Brown Sugar Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
I found the dough too crumbly and with a second batch only used 2 cups of flour. I rolled the dough in about 2 inch sausages and put it in the fridge for 2 hours, then cut the dough in 1/4 inch thick cookies. They came out perfectly and melt in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
I made these using the suggestions of another cook in the reviews, using only 2 cups flour and rolling into logs ,chilling then slicing and baking. Thet were quite good and my husband who is a dunker liked them. My only concern was with the cooking time,35 to 40 min? Can't be right. I just watched them and removed them when they were light brown, but a novice might try baking them for that length of time..... Not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2000
These cookies are very simple. If you don't want to roll out the dough, form it into small balls and flatten them with a glass. The cookies are very plain and crunch, so I think they taste best when dipped in coffee or cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I followed other reviewers suggestions and the cookies came out perfectly. I only used 2C flour and I used light brown sugar and cooked at 300 degrees for 20 minutes. After cooling for a minute or two the cookies have a great crunch. Warning they are very addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
The dough was so dry, it was crumbly. After molding into a ball and refrigerating, it was like a rock. I added butter as I worked with the dough. After they baked for much less than the specified time, they were hard as a rock. They obviously require less flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
This was a quick and easy dessert I put together in just a matter of minutes. I didn't make these into cookies. Instead, I spread this out in a greased 15x10 inch pan and baked it for about 20-25 minutes. I added an egg yolk into the mixute to hold it together. I spread some homemade chocolate sauce on top and sprinkled it with walnuts. My son went nuts for this. Good recipe Robin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Good cookies, I find making them thick and cutting baking time keeps them from being too cruchy. I put a pecan in the middle and drizzled ganache over them, very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara P

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, New York, USA
Living In: Wiscasset, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This recipy tastes better uncooked, and best of all, its egg free so you can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceprincess

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I made these a week ago. It is as though there are ingrdients missing. They tasted great but were terribly stiff and hard. I thought by being called shortbread they would melt in my mouth. I am very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I made this recipe using 2 cups of flour and imported Irish butter. The dough was crumbly. I placed the dough in plastic wrap and formed a log and placed it in the refrigerator over night. When I took the dough out of the fridge, it was as hard as a brick! But I let it sit out for five minutes and it was soft enough to slice. Baked for 18 minutes and let cool. They were so good. And very easy to make. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States