Brown Sugar Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2000
These cookies are very simple. If you don't want to roll out the dough, form it into small balls and flatten them with a glass. The cookies are very plain and crunch, so I think they taste best when dipped in coffee or cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2002
I found the dough too crumbly and with a second batch only used 2 cups of flour. I rolled the dough in about 2 inch sausages and put it in the fridge for 2 hours, then cut the dough in 1/4 inch thick cookies. They came out perfectly and melt in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
These were not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
This was a quick and easy dessert I put together in just a matter of minutes. I didn't make these into cookies. Instead, I spread this out in a greased 15x10 inch pan and baked it for about 20-25 minutes. I added an egg yolk into the mixute to hold it together. I spread some homemade chocolate sauce on top and sprinkled it with walnuts. My son went nuts for this. Good recipe Robin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2003
Only had brown sugar and was looking for a cookie with few ingredients. These fit the bill. Big cruncy and sweet! Whole family enjoyed. Wath them carefully though , can burn fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
The dough was so dry, it was crumbly. After molding into a ball and refrigerating, it was like a rock. I added butter as I worked with the dough. After they baked for much less than the specified time, they were hard as a rock. They obviously require less flour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2004
it is an easy thing to make.and taste really nice once finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
Though these had a delicious flavor they were hard as rocks. Way too much sugar, seemed more like a greasy candy then a shortbread cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Mrs. Evelyn Paradies says this recipe is ever so wonderful. Of course it can seem like a greasy candy, however, if you don't eat half of the cookie dough before baking, the recipe will come out just right and you will be so very pleaed. My husband has gained 14 pounds last month as he has simply enjoyed these cookies more than his regular apple dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Evelyn Paradies

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
I made these using the suggestions of another cook in the reviews, using only 2 cups flour and rolling into logs ,chilling then slicing and baking. Thet were quite good and my husband who is a dunker liked them. My only concern was with the cooking time,35 to 40 min? Can't be right. I just watched them and removed them when they were light brown, but a novice might try baking them for that length of time..... Not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States