Brown Sugar Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
horrible. flattened out to pancakes. too crunchy, even when dipped in coffee. too sweet, just not a good recipe in my opinion
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahLaGuera

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Venice, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
These were awesome!! I had no problems with my dough being crumbly and I used the full 2 1/2 cups of flour...maybe has something to do with me being in hot, humid Florida. I made the dough the night before and formed it into a square. When I got it out of the fridge today I let it sit a while then I used it like slice cookies and just sliced strips of dough off, worked great!! I hate getting out my rolling pin if I don't have to. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gardengrl
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I decreased the flour to 2 cups and the brown sugar to 3/4 cup. With these changes the cookies were crumbly, but not falling apart as some of the other reviewers stated. I shaped my cookies into 1" by 2" logs. When cool I dipped about 1/3 of the cookie in melted chocolate and then rolled in chopped pecans. With the above changes I would give this recipe 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gardengrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merced, California, USA
Living In: Berwick, Maine, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
I rolled them into little balls and flattened them into thumbprint cookies. i also left half of them phain. they taste amazing, but they spread too much. i think that next time i will make these cookies with shortening instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brentwood, California, USA
Living In: Foster City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
this is so easy a baby can do it. its fun & i made shapes lol, & its very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I followed other reviewers suggestions and the cookies came out perfectly. I only used 2C flour and I used light brown sugar and cooked at 300 degrees for 20 minutes. After cooling for a minute or two the cookies have a great crunch. Warning they are very addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2006
I made these using the suggestions of another cook in the reviews, using only 2 cups flour and rolling into logs ,chilling then slicing and baking. Thet were quite good and my husband who is a dunker liked them. My only concern was with the cooking time,35 to 40 min? Can't be right. I just watched them and removed them when they were light brown, but a novice might try baking them for that length of time..... Not good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Mrs. Evelyn Paradies says this recipe is ever so wonderful. Of course it can seem like a greasy candy, however, if you don't eat half of the cookie dough before baking, the recipe will come out just right and you will be so very pleaed. My husband has gained 14 pounds last month as he has simply enjoyed these cookies more than his regular apple dumplings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Evelyn Paradies

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: East Moline, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
Though these had a delicious flavor they were hard as rocks. Way too much sugar, seemed more like a greasy candy then a shortbread cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2004
it is an easy thing to make.and taste really nice once finished.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States