Brown Sugar Shortbread Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I made this dough as a backup for Scottish Tablet that my 4th grade son had to do for a school project. I refregirated it over night & quickly made them before he left for school because plan 1 did not work! His classmates all complimented these cookies & our neighbor loved the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alvin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I had to improvise on the flour, because the first batch I made was way too crumbly. I can't quite say how much I added to mine since I didn't bother keeping track, but it was way less than the full amount. Maybe even just a cup and a half. I also added cinnamon to taste, because I thought it would made a good addition. They turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I went ahead, despite the bad reviews, and attempted to make these cookies with the suggested 2 cups of flour. The taste is really, actually very good when baked to a nice almost-dark brown. However, the term "crunch," is putting it far too lightly. These cookies still turned out like rocks. I decided to dunk them in some coffee and they were absolutely awesome as a dipping cookie, but alone and dry...ouch, what a headache.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felicia Marie Neal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chloe, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Good cookies, I find making them thick and cutting baking time keeps them from being too cruchy. I put a pecan in the middle and drizzled ganache over them, very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara P

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, New York, USA
Living In: Wiscasset, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
These are really quite good, easy to make and work with, and a well-received gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This recipy tastes better uncooked, and best of all, its egg free so you can!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iceprincess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
I made this recipe using 2 cups of flour and imported Irish butter. The dough was crumbly. I placed the dough in plastic wrap and formed a log and placed it in the refrigerator over night. When I took the dough out of the fridge, it was as hard as a brick! But I let it sit out for five minutes and it was soft enough to slice. Baked for 18 minutes and let cool. They were so good. And very easy to make. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I followed the every step of this recipe. The dough was really crumbly and the cookies really didn't taste like much to me or my boyfriend and that is very rare. I wont be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodcurious
Living In: Hialeah, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I made these a week ago. It is as though there are ingrdients missing. They tasted great but were terribly stiff and hard. I thought by being called shortbread they would melt in my mouth. I am very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
These cookies didn't turn out like the melt in you r mouth shortbread I was dreaming of. They are just brown sugar cookies, witha little oatmeal and chocolate chips they would be chololate chip cookies. Very disappionted, wouldn't make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States