Brown Sugar Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
Goes fabulous with the apple coffee cake! I make this sauce every Christmas, and in our home the coffee cake is lovingly referred to as "Christmas cake". It will remain a tradition for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
I didn't have brandy, so I didn't use it. Next time I'll skip the vanilla too. I tasted it before the vanilla and thought it was wonderful, but when I put in the vanilla it didn't taste as good. I also used pecans instead of walnuts, because I like them better. Overall, easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
Used this sauce as a topping for a pear cake. Turned out yummy!!! Easy to make!!! Used vanilla soy milk which gave it a very nice creamy texture and flavour. Omitted brandy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
Just made this sauce to take to a holiday dinner, and since I've been sampling it copiously, I thought I'd go ahead and review. It's a pretty tasty sauce! Mine came out quite thick, but it's got a nice texture. I think I may omit the brandy next time, I didn't care too much for the undertaste of it. And, call me a glutton, but I think I'll add a 1/2 cup of creme with the cup of milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
Very good , Will prepare and serve this again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
Used the cream as suggested. I really couldn't serve this because I kept sneaking a taste and there almost was not enough left. :-) It's really wonderful and I think it would be okay without the brandy if you don't have that on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunny

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
This worked very well atop the spice brandy cake I made for Christmas. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2004
This is NOT a sauce at all......... it's a pudding. There is probably a nice use for it but I certainly would not consider it a sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2004
Omitted brandy; with the presence of flour, it is like a butterscotch pudding. Added a bit more cream or milk to serve as sauce. Will use my own caramel sauce, but it's good pudding, *wink*. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sereneblue

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2004
This is a great and easy recipe, I didn't change a thing. Made it to go over my bread pudding and got rave reviews, this is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chef John's Pan Sauce Bordelaise

See how to make an incredibly scrumptious red wine steak sauce.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Black Cumberland Sauce

See how to make a dark and delicious fruit sauce for roasted meats and poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States