Brown Sugar Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I made this to go with bread pudding. It was great. I did not put the brandy in it. My whole family loved it. Will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Used this to top off a pear cake I made from this site. It added another dimension to the flavors, but I had to give it 4 star because it was amazing when it was freshly made but the next day it was disappointing. I also found the brandy flavor to be a bit strong, next time I'll play around with the measurements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This is a great easy sauce recipe! I've been making one for 15 years and it never seemed to turn out right. Just tried this one and it was great. I just didn't have brandy so I used vanilla rum instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Acton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Didn't care for the texture. Won't make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I really tasted the flour. Maybe next time I'll use only two TB flour. I used imitation butter extract instead of vanilla and I liked that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
One word: delicious. I omitted the brandy, and this sauce still turned out perfect. It had a good texture, consistency, color, and superb flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I made this for the Apple Coffee Cake on this site and it was very good (makes the coffee cake taste more like dessert.) However, I should have listened to other reviewers who said it had too much brandy--I didn't heed their advice, as I of am a follower of the line regarding cooking "When in doubt add more wine/alcohol"---but 1/4 cup brandy overpowered the flavor of the sauce. If I make it again I will use no more than 2-3 tablespoons of brandy. In addition, although the sauce thickened nicely, it could be a little creamier, so I will use half heavy whipping cream and half milk next time. Finally, I think the wording of the recipe needs to be fixed as it says to stir the sauce frequently. This is the wrong wording for this type of sauce. Any sugar-based sauce that is not stirred constantly or left unattended will burn within a minute or two, so as the granddaughter or a former candy maker I advise that you continuously stir and scrape down the sides of the pan to prevent burning or else you will ruin your sauce and create a problem when you try to clean your pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggie Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This recipe is requested by everyone who has had this sauce and the Apple Coffee Cake that goes with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Makes a thick sauce perfect with the Apple Coffee Cake recipe also on this site. Perhaps I'll half the brandy next time as it was a bit strong and aromatic. I wouldn't want to cut it out though as it really adds a distinctive flavour to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Very good. Maybe a bit less brandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Pan Sauce Bordelaise

See how to make an incredibly scrumptious red wine steak sauce.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Black Cumberland Sauce

See how to make a dark and delicious fruit sauce for roasted meats and poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States