Brown Sugar Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
Used this to top off a pear cake I made from this site. It added another dimension to the flavors, but I had to give it 4 star because it was amazing when it was freshly made but the next day it was disappointing. I also found the brandy flavor to be a bit strong, next time I'll play around with the measurements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This is a great easy sauce recipe! I've been making one for 15 years and it never seemed to turn out right. Just tried this one and it was great. I just didn't have brandy so I used vanilla rum instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Acton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Didn't care for the texture. Won't make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I really tasted the flour. Maybe next time I'll use only two TB flour. I used imitation butter extract instead of vanilla and I liked that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
One word: delicious. I omitted the brandy, and this sauce still turned out perfect. It had a good texture, consistency, color, and superb flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I made this for the Apple Coffee Cake on this site and it was very good (makes the coffee cake taste more like dessert.) However, I should have listened to other reviewers who said it had too much brandy--I didn't heed their advice, as I of am a follower of the line regarding cooking "When in doubt add more wine/alcohol"---but 1/4 cup brandy overpowered the flavor of the sauce. If I make it again I will use no more than 2-3 tablespoons of brandy. In addition, although the sauce thickened nicely, it could be a little creamier, so I will use half heavy whipping cream and half milk next time. Finally, I think the wording of the recipe needs to be fixed as it says to stir the sauce frequently. This is the wrong wording for this type of sauce. Any sugar-based sauce that is not stirred constantly or left unattended will burn within a minute or two, so as the granddaughter or a former candy maker I advise that you continuously stir and scrape down the sides of the pan to prevent burning or else you will ruin your sauce and create a problem when you try to clean your pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veggie Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This recipe is requested by everyone who has had this sauce and the Apple Coffee Cake that goes with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Makes a thick sauce perfect with the Apple Coffee Cake recipe also on this site. Perhaps I'll half the brandy next time as it was a bit strong and aromatic. I wouldn't want to cut it out though as it really adds a distinctive flavour to the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Very good. Maybe a bit less brandy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I was skeptical but tried it any way. Left out the brandy. D-E-L-I-S-H!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Pan Sauce Bordelaise

See how to make an incredibly scrumptious red wine steak sauce.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States