Brown Sugar Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I was skeptical but tried it any way. Left out the brandy. D-E-L-I-S-H!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
This recipe is great. I used half milk and half cream for the amount of milk called for. I left out the brandy and added some cinnamon. It turned out great. I used it as icing for a fruit cocktail cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
This sauce was amazing!! Poured it over hot bread pudding and didnt add the brandy, yummm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2008
This is delicious. I made this to put on homemade cinnamon rolls. When I went to make the that goes with the rolls, I realized that I was out of powdered sugar. I searched for an icing recipe made without pwd sugar and found this. It was delightful and wonderfully rich. I left out the brandy because I was serving it to my kids, though. I think it would be wonderful with pecans. Definitely a recipe I will keep on hand as a nice icing alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
Loved the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparkysarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tanaquil
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2007
This is one of my fav recipes from this site. Original review: Wow! This was really good! I made this for a pound cake. I tasted a little as I was icing the cake---amazing! I did change the recipe based on others' reviews that said it was too thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 21, 2007
Oh my....this was good.I used it as a topping for pear cake..also on this site. Comfort food at its best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
I've never had a brown butter sauce before. I really liked it! So simple to make and it would work well with any kind of vanilla, butter, banana, carrot or apple cake. I like the way you don't need to use icing sugar as I don't always have it in my pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2007
This sauce was absolutely amazing on top of the sour milk spice cake from this site. I replaced the brandy with an equal amount of water and used sour milk (I think that's the right term for it; it was the liquid left over from making ricotta cheese)in place of the regular milk. It turned out a perfect, slightly thick glaze consistency, therefore it must be pretty simple to make because I rarely make things using sugar on the stove without ruining them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
This sauce is even better if you use molasses and granulated sugar rather than brown sugar. 1 cup of mild molasses + 1 cup of granulated sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Pan Sauce Bordelaise

See how to make an incredibly scrumptious red wine steak sauce.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Black Cumberland Sauce

See how to make a dark and delicious fruit sauce for roasted meats and poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States