Brown Sugar Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Made only a couple changes. Used only 2 tablespoons flour so it would have a more liquid texture and only 2 tablespoons brandy. Put it over bread pudding and it was WONDERFUL!! I'm eating some right now (the next day) and it's still delicious. I can barely taste the brandy, so will try with the full amount called for in the recipe next time. I highly recommend this sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
OMG!!!! Fantastic!! I made a chocolate cake and I wanted a Layer of caramel TO DIE FOR!!! So simple and quick to make! I couldnt stop eating it by the spoon full...lol I Defiently recomend this recipe!! I cant waite to try it on cinnamon rolls!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Very tasty sauce. I omitted the brandy and added a tbsp of Greek yogurt. This went well with the apple coffee cake
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This is a great recipe!! When I made it I omitted the vanilla and rum but stirred in about a teaspoon of sea salt and it tasted just like those really fancy salted caramels. :o) I used the sauce to top sticky buns but I can think of many many things to put it on, including a spoon! ;o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Delish! I did take another cook's tip to use cream and skipped the brandy. Nummy! I'll use this over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
I made with almond milk, no brandy, no vanilla and used as an apple dip. It was delicious! I can just imagine how well it would work with baked goods! I am so glad I found a cream cheese free brown sugar recipe I can use as a fruit dip. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This was the sauce my aunt in Tennessee served over pound cake when I was a child (no brandy though!) thanks for posting! And DEFINITELY use cream instead of milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prairie Village, Kansas, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This was lovely over the German Apple Cake recipe on this site! I found it too thick for my liking and would recommend therefore reducing the flour for the future. Also, this makes too much - I would make half the recipe for a cake, and reduce the sugar just a touch because it was quite sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
We enjoyed this sauce and put a little bit of it over warm apple crisp and added some to homemade bread pudding! My kids especially loved it! Thanks! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Neecie_Kay

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I made this to go with bread pudding. It was great. I did not put the brandy in it. My whole family loved it. Will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Pan Sauce Bordelaise

See how to make an incredibly scrumptious red wine steak sauce.

Bourbon Whiskey BBQ Sauce

Kentucky bourbon leads a saucy cast of tangy, spicy, and sweet ingredients.

Black Cumberland Sauce

See how to make a dark and delicious fruit sauce for roasted meats and poultry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States