Brown Sugar Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
I've tried this sauce times now and I was only able to get it the first time I tried it. The past few times the sugar turned HARD when I poured the boiling water over it. I returned it to the stove and some of the hard sugar did melt but then it had a burnt smell to it. I'm going to keep looking for another recipe. I won't be trying this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, Hamburg, Germany
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
With double layer pumpkin cheesecake, this is a new family favorite. I placed all of sauce over baked cheesecake, then cool whip layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by choirmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairview Park, Ohio, USA
Living In: Barberton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
Delicious and perfect over bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEV

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
We love this I add cinnamon to it for flavor. My husband loves it on ice cream. We mainly use it on Veronicas Apple Pancakes from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
this is a really yummy, easy, caramel type sauce. i give it 5 stars, for flavor and origionality. though it turned a little weird, which was my fault, because i poured it over ice cream and promptly put it in the freezer - it got kind of a puddinglike consistancy which was funky, so i dont advise doing that! great flavor though! quick fix when you dont have alot of ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
This was good, but mine did have the "burnt" taste to it, even though I was faithfully stirring the entire time. I give it 3 because my kids liked it, and with ice cream it was still good enough to eat :) I wouldn't serve it otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Homeward Hearts

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
This sauce is excellent. I actually omitted the vanilla because I didn't want it to be too sweet because I poured it over peas to serve with dinner. The sauce did a good job of clinging to the peas (so it didn't run all over the plate) and it even went really well when (accidentally) mixed with the mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2006
I find that I prefered making this recipe with molasses rather than brown sugar. I would substitute 1 cup of mild molasses & 1 cup of granulated sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
This sauce has the perfect consistency for bread pudding, and even tho i forgot to add the vanilla, it had a delicious caramel taste! I did have to cook & stir much longer than five minutes, but it takes time to make a great sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
I need to try this recipe again. It seems like it could be great. Wanted it for a pancake syrup. Beware when adding hot water. It really steamed and spit when adding boiling water! The color was darker than I expected and I was wanting a lighter taste and appearance. Mine also seemed to have a slight burnt flavor. Don't need to cook for 5 minutes! I agree that adding some heavy cream would make it richer. I also added Cinnamon Plus from Pampered Chef's spice collection and added chopped apples. Those were nice additions. Next time I will reduce cooking time and try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sarona, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

How to Make Brown Butter Sauce

Learn this easy way to make brown butter sauce and a simple sole meuniere.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States