Brown Sugar Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2015
Was looking for a non-alcoholic version of a bread pudding sauce and this was so easy and tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
I've looked off and on for a recipe for a brown sugar sauce like my favorite restaurant serves sweet potato fries with--the only condiment suitable for them. This recipe makes a wonderful, simple, rich sauce. I used dark brown sugar making it even richer. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
delicious!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lin-DUH
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
Wow, thank you so much for this recipe! I had no idea that caramel sauce was so easy. The flavor was wonderful, and it was a breeze to make. I might play with it to make it a little thicker, but it's great as-is. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lin-DUH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Turned out jelly like, would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by i <3 my marine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
i had a horrible time making this sauce. i did not even get to try it. once i added in the water the junk boiled up and crackled then burnt. i have no idea what happened. the brown sugar ended up hardening inside the sauce pan and i had to boil water in it to clean it out. hope no one else had this problem, it was one heck of a mess! and a bad smell too. i will try it again some time, but i gave this a three because i did follow the directions as written and this was not a good outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I made this for the first time today to pour over my blueberry cake for an added treat. At first I didn't think that it was turning out right as it was very very thick(like a glue paste) so I just added a little more water and a touch more vanilla and it turned out excellent! I will add the warning that I read in other reviews about the water spitting and splashing when you add it and to be careful doing so but I didn't at all have the burnt smell that others reported. I added this recipe to my recipe box and Will use it again. Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
Made this for the first time today to go with DIGGETYDOG's fantastic, raisinless "Bread Pudding II" recipe on this site...it was the perfect accompaniment! I followed the cooking directions exactly with no problems & terrific results. But I changed some of the ingredients, partly based on some of the other reviewers' suggestions and partly improvising. I made this with demerara sugar, which worked great. I used 3/4 cup water & 1/4 cup cream, added 2 Tblsp. maple syrup, and when the heat was off just before serving I stirred in about 1/2 Tblsp. butter to make the sauce silkier & butterier. It was absolutely awesome! It was the perfect consistency - glossy & silky and it coated the spoon. The sauce is just as good cold over ice cream as it was hot over bread pudding. The flavor is kind of like a cross between caramel & butterscotch - very tasty! It completely blows bottled sauces off the map, and it's so easy and quick to make, I'll never again buy ice cream sauce! I could eat this sauce like soup. It was very, very good! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
This sauce was excellent! I had it on crepes, but it would be great on pancakes or cake or cheesecake too! Was easy to make too! To reheat the leftovers, I simply added a little water and put in the microwave! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janelle D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Kisbey, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
Pretty good. I heeded the warnings about the sugar burning, so I cooked on MEDIUM-LOW (closer to low), and this never bubbled for me... EVER. With that, I had some consistency problems, but has a great sweet caramelly flavor. If I use this recipe again, I'd make sure to add in some heavy cream and boil for a few minutes, just to give it that extra "OOMPH!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick Tartar Sauce

Delicious homemade sauce with just four ingredients.

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

How to Make Brown Butter Sauce

Learn this easy way to make brown butter sauce and a simple sole meuniere.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States