Brown Sugar Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
I was pleasantly surprised by this sauce, not only was it extrememly easy to make, it had a wonderful caramel flavor that was subtle yet very sweet, perfect for bread pudding! To address the scorched smell concerns that earlier posters experienced, I think the problem may be due to overcooking the brown sugar? I thought the brown sugar would be a syrup by the time I added the water . However, the sugar was bubbling and browning, but still in a somewhat solid state when I cooked it. No burned smell and the resulting sauce was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
I thought this sauce was excellent. I served it over pancakes. I can't wait to try it over cheesecake! I would recommend cooking this over a lower heat than the submitter suggests, and it is important to stir constantly. Sugar will burn very easily so be careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Excellent. Made an addition of a couple tbsp of whipping cream when cooking brown sugar, before adding boiling water for extra richness. It was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
It actually turned out better than I thought! I had made a applesauce spice cake & was looking for a simple sauce. It was not too thin or thick but was darker than expected.Might try a little cream with it next time.Overall a good sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Puryear, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
This sauce has the perfect consistency for bread pudding, and even tho i forgot to add the vanilla, it had a delicious caramel taste! I did have to cook & stir much longer than five minutes, but it takes time to make a great sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2007
this is a really yummy, easy, caramel type sauce. i give it 5 stars, for flavor and origionality. though it turned a little weird, which was my fault, because i poured it over ice cream and promptly put it in the freezer - it got kind of a puddinglike consistancy which was funky, so i dont advise doing that! great flavor though! quick fix when you dont have alot of ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
Simple and tasty with Ellen's Bread Pudding II. Maybe too much for one batch. Reheats not the same as fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WINNONA

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
I liked the flavor of this sauce. I made it to serve with bread pudding and it worked wonderfully. However, I don't know what I was doing wrong, but the first time I made it, when I took it off the heat and added water to it, the sugar mixture gave off a strongly burned odor. I threw that batch out and tried it again. This time, I didn't cook the sugar mixture that much but when I added the water, it still gave off a slightly burned odor. However, when I tasted it, it tasted pretty good. I don't know what I did wrong, but I am still going to try this recipe again and serve it over vanilla ice cream. It kind of tastes like butterscotch sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Mirada, California, USA
Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
I need to try this recipe again. It seems like it could be great. Wanted it for a pancake syrup. Beware when adding hot water. It really steamed and spit when adding boiling water! The color was darker than I expected and I was wanting a lighter taste and appearance. Mine also seemed to have a slight burnt flavor. Don't need to cook for 5 minutes! I agree that adding some heavy cream would make it richer. I also added Cinnamon Plus from Pampered Chef's spice collection and added chopped apples. Those were nice additions. Next time I will reduce cooking time and try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sarona, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2007
This sauce is excellent. I actually omitted the vanilla because I didn't want it to be too sweet because I poured it over peas to serve with dinner. The sauce did a good job of clinging to the peas (so it didn't run all over the plate) and it even went really well when (accidentally) mixed with the mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

How to Make Brown Butter Sauce

Learn this easy way to make brown butter sauce and a simple sole meuniere.

Tarragon Walnut Brown Butter Sauce

This simple brown butter sauce is perfect spooned over white fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States