Brown Sugar Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Excellent. Made an addition of a couple tbsp of whipping cream when cooking brown sugar, before adding boiling water for extra richness. It was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
This sauce was perfect. It has a nice, delicate flavor that goes wonderfully with bread pudding. Just watch over it carefully. It almost reminds me of a caramel sauce, but not as strong or sticky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Yung2Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2005
I was pleasantly surprised by this sauce, not only was it extrememly easy to make, it had a wonderful caramel flavor that was subtle yet very sweet, perfect for bread pudding! To address the scorched smell concerns that earlier posters experienced, I think the problem may be due to overcooking the brown sugar? I thought the brown sugar would be a syrup by the time I added the water . However, the sugar was bubbling and browning, but still in a somewhat solid state when I cooked it. No burned smell and the resulting sauce was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2005
The sauce was good..but I used this recipe to pour over another recipe found on this site for Apple Fritters as submitters as suggested and the result was a sloppy soggy mess. The flavor was good though..so I suppose it depends on what you are pouring it on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MINALEWIS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: South Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2004
Very good, I had trouble not eating it straight out of the pan. It isn't an overly strong flavoured recipe, but goes very well with bread pudding. I needed to add more butter to make a soft paste, and I only used a very low heat. Try and use your heaviest sauce pan so as not to burn it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2004
My family thought it tasted like roasted marshmellows. If you like roasted marshmellows on your pancakes then you would enjoy this recipe. We personally don't.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RATHBUN

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
This is wonderful! Anything is good with this spooned on top of it. It was sooo easy to make a was fabulous on top of the apple coffee cake also found on this site. Thanks so much! I can't wait to find other things to eat it on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jesusislife

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
I thought this sauce was excellent. I served it over pancakes. I can't wait to try it over cheesecake! I would recommend cooking this over a lower heat than the submitter suggests, and it is important to stir constantly. Sugar will burn very easily so be careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2003
It actually turned out better than I thought! I had made a applesauce spice cake & was looking for a simple sauce. It was not too thin or thick but was darker than expected.Might try a little cream with it next time.Overall a good sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLYSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Puryear, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
I added cinammon and nutmeg and poured it over Apple Fritters (also found on this site). DELICIOUS!!! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

How to Make Brown Butter Sauce

Learn this easy way to make brown butter sauce and a simple sole meuniere.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States