Brown Sugar-Rum Pound Cakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2009
A wonderful flavorful cake, terrific texture and perfect glaze. Have been selling this cake for a few years already. My customers keep comming back for more. That to me says it all. Is one great tasting cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
this just wasn't nearly as good as the more "traditional" pound cake i've made. it was too light to feel like pound cake, and too brown sugary to taste like it. also, the "glaze", once cooled, wound up like candy-caramel topping, so hard and sticky that i had to cut off the top of the cake so people could eat it. the 9 year olds in my family never turn down cake. if you try this recipe, DONT ADD THE GLAZE. as for me, i won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2006
Wow - this cake was great! I didn't have a completely full box of brown sugar (maybe 1 Cup was missing) but I felt the cakes were just sweet enough. I also skipped the glaze and didn't this affected the cake at all, in fact, I think the cake would have been too rich and sweet with the glaze. Try this recipe, you won't be disappointed. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
All I can say is AWESOME! Super moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
This is excellent!! I made one bundt cake and I put the rum in after I boiled the glaze. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2005
all I can say is... YUM!!! I didn't use the glaze, but the cake itself was wonderful, tasty and moist. Family LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
This cake was not a big hit in my family. The cake tasted very bland and extremely "floury" tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWISTEDPASSION

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bogalusa, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
This is a wonderful cake. I made it for an office birthday celebration and it was gone in 20 minutes!! I don't believe I have ever seen anything disapear quite so quickly and the complements were numerous. I followed the cake recipe exactly, I made it in a large (12 cup) bundt pan and baked it for 60 minutes. I wanted a little heavier rum flavor so I used the Bacardi Rum Cake glaze. This is definately a keeper, a cake I will bake often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Manteo, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2005
This cake is delicious, with a moist tight crumb, very flavorful. I only used half the glaze (I made one large bundt cake), thought it would be too wet if I used all the glaze, and it was just right. Glaze amount is probably ok if you make 2 smaller cakes. I will definitely keep this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
Wow! Every bit as good as the other reviews said it would be! The texture was perfect...moist and not too dense. We ate it warm out of the oven, but I bet it will be better the second day. I halved the recipe and baked it in a fluted bundt pan. It only took about 40 minutes to bake. The consistency of the batter was a little weird - much fluffier than regular cake batter. I was a little worried about it, but it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States