Brown Sugar Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
While this is a pretty cake, and while the frosting is wonderful, the cake itself is dry, dry, dry. 'Nuff said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
This exact recipe appeared in a magazine I saw last month-I believe it was Southern Cooking or something like it...anyway I wrote it down and made it the same day and it was fabulous. I gave some to all of my "cooking friends" and everyone was VERY pleased. The frosting is great, although I thought the recipe made way too much of it and I covered the cake like 3 times with it! I'd scale the frosting back by 1/3 but otherwise a great addition to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
Cake is very good but the frosting is wonderful!!!!! It like candy and my kids love it. I will use it for other cakes also. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
oh...my...goodness...this icing was to die for. I did not make the cake because I had my own recipe, but the icing was so good. I had so many compliments on the icing and how it really complimented the cake. I will always make this icing for my pound cakes now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Good pound cake recipe. I didn't have maple extract so used vanilla. The cake had a good texture and flavor. The glaze on top was really great. We served with strawberries and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2006
Fantastic recipe! Firm and moist. Everyone loved it. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
I made this cake without eggs--children are allergic. It came out moist and great. The icing was also good. I would definitely make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
This was favorite recipe during the Christmas Holidays. It was easy to put together and had a firm, but tender texture. The maple flavoring adds a delicious flavor and makes the house smell wonderful! I made several for serving and for gifts. Great anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Oglesby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Van Wyck, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2002
I was disappointed with this recipe for several reasons. I followed directions exactly, making no changes but it still came out rather dry and tough. The strange thing is, I baked it for exactly 70 minutes, checked it for doneness, and then when I sliced into it, you could see that it was slighty undercooked. Usually, that would make for a moister cake...but not this time. The frosting/glaze was great, though (if you like brown-sugar candy, you'd like this!). It did not have the texture I was looking for either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2001
This cake has become a favorite at our house. Easy and proud to say it is a "scratch" cake. My grandchildren love the glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Clinton, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States