Brown Sugar Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
While this is a pretty cake, and while the frosting is wonderful, the cake itself is dry, dry, dry. 'Nuff said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
This exact recipe appeared in a magazine I saw last month-I believe it was Southern Cooking or something like it...anyway I wrote it down and made it the same day and it was fabulous. I gave some to all of my "cooking friends" and everyone was VERY pleased. The frosting is great, although I thought the recipe made way too much of it and I covered the cake like 3 times with it! I'd scale the frosting back by 1/3 but otherwise a great addition to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
Cake is very good but the frosting is wonderful!!!!! It like candy and my kids love it. I will use it for other cakes also. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
oh...my...goodness...this icing was to die for. I did not make the cake because I had my own recipe, but the icing was so good. I had so many compliments on the icing and how it really complimented the cake. I will always make this icing for my pound cakes now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Good pound cake recipe. I didn't have maple extract so used vanilla. The cake had a good texture and flavor. The glaze on top was really great. We served with strawberries and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2006
Fantastic recipe! Firm and moist. Everyone loved it. I would definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
I made this cake without eggs--children are allergic. It came out moist and great. The icing was also good. I would definitely make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2005
This was favorite recipe during the Christmas Holidays. It was easy to put together and had a firm, but tender texture. The maple flavoring adds a delicious flavor and makes the house smell wonderful! I made several for serving and for gifts. Great anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Oglesby

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Van Wyck, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2002
I was disappointed with this recipe for several reasons. I followed directions exactly, making no changes but it still came out rather dry and tough. The strange thing is, I baked it for exactly 70 minutes, checked it for doneness, and then when I sliced into it, you could see that it was slighty undercooked. Usually, that would make for a moister cake...but not this time. The frosting/glaze was great, though (if you like brown-sugar candy, you'd like this!). It did not have the texture I was looking for either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2001
This cake has become a favorite at our house. Easy and proud to say it is a "scratch" cake. My grandchildren love the glaze!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Clinton, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States