Brown Sugar Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2007
This cake was so moist and good, my picky kids and husband loves it. I added brown sugar frosting to it and ummmm even better. After my in-laws got some, gone in one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
wonderful.. i added some walnusts and dates and it was perfect..however i cut a little on the white sugar i ran out still turned out fine..will make it again for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
after reading all the reviews, I did decide to modify this recipe just a bit to add more flavor. I added: 1/2 tsp salt to dry ingredients; to the egg& sugar mixture I also added: 1 tsp of "vanilla butter&nut extract" (it's by mccormick and in most stores), 1 tsp of lemon zest (helps balance out all the sweetness) and substituted half&half instead of milk. I ground the pecans in the food processor untill they were fine but not dust or paste, about 20 sec maybe; folded them in at the end. For a glaze I did: 6 tbl butter, 3 tbl corn syrup, 1/2 tsp lemon zest, 1/4 c brown sugar. Cooked over med heat for until well combined and butter is completely melted. Off heat add: 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp of the vanilla butter extract and 1 cup of finely chopped pecans. It should resemble the topping for a sticky bun, thick and gooey. Spoon over the top of the cake when still warm. It is very sweet and decadent dessert that is fabulous for company. I sprinkled a bit of powdered sugar around the plate when I served it. It was beautiful and scrumptous and everyone loved it! Thank you for such a wonderful recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Stone Mountain, Georgia, USA
Living In: Owings Mills, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Great!!! Very moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
I had two brown sugar pound cake recipes I tried last week and I thought this was the better one by far. It was like a pecan chew made into a pound cake. Really yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
i'm juz done with baking this cake :D ... its really soft and moist... added abt 2 dsp margarine and replaced the pecans with chocolate chips. its really yummyyy!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! (its really sweet too... but my family loved it! my 3yr old ate 5 slices while still warm!! u can decrease the sugar qty if u like) thanx for sharing the recipe Arvilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
I kept in mind what everyone was saying about the dryness and slight lack of flavor and added 2 tbsp of oil and 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon. It turned out to be pretty good. It's really good with strawberries and whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
This was very good and moist. It was just a little sweet but I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
Excellent cake! I think it needed a little something extra although it was great alone also. I made it for a family reunion and everyone asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
Personally, I thought this was bland and too crumbly (2-stars at best) BUT my family gives this a 4-star rating. They thought it was really good. Thank goodness I headed others advice: I added a handful of Hershey's cinnamon chips to the bottom of the cake pan before I poured the batter in and another small handful into the batter itself. Without this addition - I doubt I would have a received the high approval rating from my family that it did. Tastes similar to a sugar cookie but too plain for me (very unusual!). I'll let my family eat this cake up but I'm sorry - I just don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States