Brown Sugar Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I didn't realize that this recipe made so much! I only had a loaf pan. I would highly recommend halving the recipe if you're not wanting to make a large bundt. I ended up having to make two loaves because I had so much batter. When using a loaf pan, increase the cooking time to 75 minutes. At 60 minutes, it's still gooey in the middle. Also, for a better flavor, use a tablespoon of vanilla and a teaspoon of almond extract. That helps with the complaints on here about the cake being too bland. Also, I sprinkled a sweet cinnamon sprinkle on top with crushed walnuts and it came out delicious (the ends were a little tough, but soften up nicely with whipped cream on top). :) All in all, a delicious cake recipe I'll add to my box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I made this for a bake sale, and let me tell you, it was a real act of charity to give it away. The batter and crumbs were delicious and I only wish I could have had a big piece. It smelled wonderful when baking. I used Caramel Frosting I on it. 10/20/08--I wanted to try this cake so badly that I bought it back at the bake sale! It's very good, has the brown sugar taste, the right pound cake consistency, and is very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Loved it! So simple to make and I served it with a warm brown sugar syrup.I omitted the pecans though.Warm comfort food never tasted better.Its a keeper! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leanne Bryant

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Moist and falvorful this cake. Can not understand reviewers saying it was dry. You do need to beat butter and sugar thoroughly, and the same goes for the eggs. After it sits a few days the texture and flavour improves. Thanks for submitting - it is a classy cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Great recipe just the way it is. Definately reminds me of cookie dough like flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
Great flavor and it's nice and moist. It baked up with no problem and I like the nuts and might even add a 1/2c mini chocolate chips next time. The brown sugar flavor reminds me of chocolate chip cookies so I think it'll be a great match but I don't want to make it too chocolatey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
VERY GOOD RECIPE,ADDED A RUM SAUCE,YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I totally agree..this is the best!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Social Circle, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
I'm really not impressed with this recipe. I had to give it a three b/c it is way too dense for my liking and it wasn't that flavorful (even though I added an extra half teaspoon of vanilla and two pinches of salt). It's not a bad recipe but in my opinion, the major problem was the density (no cake should be this heavy!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I have tried this both with and without the pecans. As much as I love nuts in my breads, this is a 5 star recipe without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States