Brown Sugar Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I left out the pecans and added a dash of cinnamon. The cake came out very, very nice. When warm, my husband said it tastes like a pancake. It tasted very good, the brown sugar was subtle. I thought it needed a little something..maybe a little salt? I would definitely make this agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sirenadabat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
VERY dense cake....more like a bread. Have to admit after all the reviews I was excited to try this BUT a bit disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I tried this plain ( no nuts) and w/ walnuts & it was delicious! Thanks for this awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coloradocutie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2009
So I had some issues with this recipe, but it may very well have been me. The ingredients went together with no issue, but when it came time to put them in the pan (I was using the rose bundt like the one pictured) there was WAY too much batter! I ended up making 2 bundts out of this! (One rose and one heart) I admit that the rose could have been more full, but the heart bundt rose right to the brim and the rose wasn't far behind. As far as baking goes, the heart came out more evenly cooked and took less time that the rose- but this may have been the pan/my oven. Overall, the recipe tasted great, I just wish I could figure out why it didn't work out so well for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
EASY and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
I made this last weekend and took it to work... not one person passed up a piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
Dense and moist, with a nice butterscotch flavor, not too sweet. I sprinkled powdered sugar on the top. It would also probably be good with a light orange glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
WOW! This was a wonderful pound cake. The brown sugar just gave it a nice flavor that was not your usual pound cake. I doubled the vanilla called for and made it in a bundt pan. I made sure to really whip the sugar and butter, adding both gradually to really keep it light and fluffy, and added each egg slowly as well. It was easy and everyone loved it. Served it topped with fresh strawberries and whipped cream. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rjlund

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
This cake is soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Compton, California, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States