Brown Sugar Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
My family and I loved this! Had great texture and flavor! I did half the recipe to make a loaf pan since there are only four of us and I did omit the pecans (don't like pieces of things in cake). I went on the side of caution and used 3 eggs when I halved it, figured it wouldn't hurt. I had to cover it with foil for the last 20 mins of baking to make sure the tip didn't burn. I also used a caramel frosting but im sure it'd be delicious plain too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Made it. LOVED IT!!! Possible Thanksgiving dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paris Lipsey-Coley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This was a good recipe. It wasn't very fluffy, I don't enjoy my cakes dense. But it must have been something I did wrong. The flavor was great though. I think I'll try to learn from my mistakes and make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Delicious! Makes a nice big cake. I omitted pecans, very good recipe, will definitely be making this again. Made the mistake of trying to put all batter in my Temptations Bundt pan, about 1/3 too much batter. Made a small loaf pan with extra third.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANAMARIA1018

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I'm not a great baker, so I was scrupulous about measuring, beating, mixing, blending and stirring…so I know I prepared it properly. This cake was a huge disappointment. It had no flavor, bland and didn't smell great while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
This is my kids favorite pound cake!!1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Today makes the second time I made this cake in a month and both times I've had issues with it being really crusty and the edges falling off. The first time I camouflaged it with Carmel Icing. Can someone please tell me what I'm doing wrong or has other experienced this also but doesn't mention it. The cake though covered with Carmel Icing got mad reviews and requests for more. HELP PLEASE!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I used someone's suggestion of substituting almond milk, and I substituted toasted walnuts instead of pecans only because I had no pecans. This cake is sooooo delicious. Even the crust has a caramelly taste. It does not need a glaze. Such a treat for the first day of Autumn. . . and the second . . . and every day after!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Janesville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I have to say this is the BEST!! pound cake iv EVER made!! seriously it is that GOOD!! I did make cupcakes out of the recipe and this cake is sooooo not bland like some other reviewers said its DELICIOUS! I like that its not overly dense it is so moist! I LOVE IT!! i didnt have any pecans but i did have butterscotch chips so i added those i almost wished i didnt when i make this cake again i will add the nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
This cake was delicious and the recipe was very easy to follow! I am definitely going to make this cake over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States