Brown Sugar Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2015
Skipping the pecans didn't compromise any flavor, that's for sure! Hubs asked if there was maple syrup in the cake because it tasted just like waffles and maple syrup! Can't do any complaining about a cake that tastes like waffles and syrup, right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
This was my first time I ever made a pound cake from scratch but it came out beautifully. I did make one change which was used evaporated milk instead of regular milk. Everybody body loved it and I will use this again but next time make a glaze to go with it. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
I adapted this recipe to my taste. I omitted the white sugar, glad I did because the cake is sweet enough. It would have been too sweet with the white sugar as well. I loved the look of the batter and it was light and moist when I tried it. I didn't let it completely cool before trying a slice, it is lovely warm and fully cooled. I also used self raising flour as I did not have baking powder to hand and omitted the nuts as my partner doesn't really like cakes with nuts in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
My family and I loved this! Had great texture and flavor! I did half the recipe to make a loaf pan since there are only four of us and I did omit the pecans (don't like pieces of things in cake). I went on the side of caution and used 3 eggs when I halved it, figured it wouldn't hurt. I had to cover it with foil for the last 20 mins of baking to make sure the tip didn't burn. I also used a caramel frosting but im sure it'd be delicious plain too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Made it. LOVED IT!!! Possible Thanksgiving dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paris Lipsey-Coley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
This was a good recipe. It wasn't very fluffy, I don't enjoy my cakes dense. But it must have been something I did wrong. The flavor was great though. I think I'll try to learn from my mistakes and make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Delicious! Makes a nice big cake. I omitted pecans, very good recipe, will definitely be making this again. Made the mistake of trying to put all batter in my Temptations Bundt pan, about 1/3 too much batter. Made a small loaf pan with extra third.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIANAMARIA1018

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I'm not a great baker, so I was scrupulous about measuring, beating, mixing, blending and stirring…so I know I prepared it properly. This cake was a huge disappointment. It had no flavor, bland and didn't smell great while baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
This is my kids favorite pound cake!!1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Today makes the second time I made this cake in a month and both times I've had issues with it being really crusty and the edges falling off. The first time I camouflaged it with Carmel Icing. Can someone please tell me what I'm doing wrong or has other experienced this also but doesn't mention it. The cake though covered with Carmel Icing got mad reviews and requests for more. HELP PLEASE!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States