Brown Sugar Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
This is my kids favorite pound cake!!1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Today makes the second time I made this cake in a month and both times I've had issues with it being really crusty and the edges falling off. The first time I camouflaged it with Carmel Icing. Can someone please tell me what I'm doing wrong or has other experienced this also but doesn't mention it. The cake though covered with Carmel Icing got mad reviews and requests for more. HELP PLEASE!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
I used someone's suggestion of substituting almond milk, and I substituted toasted walnuts instead of pecans only because I had no pecans. This cake is sooooo delicious. Even the crust has a caramelly taste. It does not need a glaze. Such a treat for the first day of Autumn. . . and the second . . . and every day after!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Janesville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
I have to say this is the BEST!! pound cake iv EVER made!! seriously it is that GOOD!! I did make cupcakes out of the recipe and this cake is sooooo not bland like some other reviewers said its DELICIOUS! I like that its not overly dense it is so moist! I LOVE IT!! i didnt have any pecans but i did have butterscotch chips so i added those i almost wished i didnt when i make this cake again i will add the nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
This cake was delicious and the recipe was very easy to follow! I am definitely going to make this cake over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
This cake was a hit at my roommate's Bday party. I modified it significantly. I added 1/4 cup Hennessy and substituted almond milk for the cow milk. The cake was super moist, super delicious and the brown sugar glaze (brown sugar, butter melted together with 2 tblsp cream and 1/4 tsp salt added) with almond slivers made it lovely. Also, it was very tall. Very. Make sure your bunt pan is large enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Tried this recipe last year. It was a family function. Everyone loved it! The family continues to ask for this cake. I followed the direction to a tee. It's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
I absolutely love this cake! I used salted butter since the recipe doesn't have any in it. I will definitely put this in my collection of recipes to keep forever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Made it as instructed and made the brown sugar frosting another reviewer posted and it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenToBeach
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Great cake. Easy to make and better to eat. Not very sweet so its perfect! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenToBeach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States