Brown Sugar Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2004
I kept in mind what everyone was saying about the dryness and slight lack of flavor and added 2 tbsp of oil and 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon. It turned out to be pretty good. It's really good with strawberries and whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
This was very good and moist. It was just a little sweet but I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2003
Excellent cake! I think it needed a little something extra although it was great alone also. I made it for a family reunion and everyone asked for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2003
Personally, I thought this was bland and too crumbly (2-stars at best) BUT my family gives this a 4-star rating. They thought it was really good. Thank goodness I headed others advice: I added a handful of Hershey's cinnamon chips to the bottom of the cake pan before I poured the batter in and another small handful into the batter itself. Without this addition - I doubt I would have a received the high approval rating from my family that it did. Tastes similar to a sugar cookie but too plain for me (very unusual!). I'll let my family eat this cake up but I'm sorry - I just don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
Wonderfully tender and moist with a great flavor. Unfortunately, mine fell when baked in a tube pan but was still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
this recipe was great... and easy, although i had to make a few substitutions (because i did not have the cocoa at the time i wanted to make it)it still came out as moist as was said..loved it, friends loved it and family loved it, i will do it again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LANDIGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sharon Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
great flavor! I ran out of milk so used a 5 oz can of evaporated milk and 3 oz water. Made it even richer and more flavorful...I would recommend this recipe to anyone who wanted a different kind of poundcake from the usual
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
I make many pound cakes and am always testing recipes for new ones. This one is a hit! Great texture and flavor. Add icing if you need a little pizzaz, but wonderful by it's self. Great for breakfast too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BabaEva

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
I made this cake twice yesterday. I used a 12 cup, 10" inch bundt pan. I beat the sugars/butter for about 8 minutes & another 3-4 minutes after adding eggs. Also, I added 1/2 tsp salt to the dry ingredients. The cake was HUGE, moist & smelled wonderful when baking. I made the 1st cake with pecans & it was delicious. I made the 2nd cake without pecans and topped the slightly warm cake with a caramel frosting which dripped down the sides. YUMMY! (Caramel frosting: melt 1/2 stick real butter over low heat; add 1/2 cup packed dark brown sugar and 1/4 cup milk; heat until almost boiling. Remove from heat and cool 10 min. Add 1/2 tsp vanilla. Beat in 2 cups sifted confectioners sugar until smooth. Cool 5 minutes and spoon on warm cake). Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2002
THIS RECIPE IS MY FAVORITE AND NOW MY SPECIALTY AT THE JOB!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States