Brown Sugar Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
I was surprised by the eggie flavor and soft texture however, I found both those elements to enhance the flavor of the pie I really enjoyed and it and I would make it again. I made my own crust (which I have never done before) and it came out great! Thanks for the recipe it was delicious I love brown sugar!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
This pie was great! Very good and so easy my boyfriend made it in about ten minutes! Tasted just like pecan pie without the pecans. Will definitely make again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2003
I made this recipe into little tarts, they puffed up nicely and the crust was really great. It's a good recipe. MARYENGLAND
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2004
This pie is easy with common ingredients and the best pie I've ever tasted. I don't know why we haven't heard of it sooner!! Thanks Donna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2005
I absolutely loved this recipe. I tried it topped with pecans, and it was a hit. My husband thought it was a bit too sweet, but then again, he thinks that about just about everything. This is an easy way to satisfy a major sweet tooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
This recipe is Awesome! I just tried it on a whim and minimal ingredients and I must say I was not dissapointed. I added a touch of cinnamon and nutmeg. Yummy! Thank you Donna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
This was a great pie, very very easy. It set very well too, most sugar pies have a hard time setting properly. Had a pecan pie taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This is yummy and very easy! I have a severe dairy allergy, and was looking wistfully at my kids' Halloween haul full of chocolate, caramel, and other goodies. I started daydreaming about chess pie. This recipe looked quick and simple, so I did the following: 1. Substituted soy milk and butter-flavored Crisco for the milk and butter, respectively. 2. Tossed a tortilla in the bottom of a pie pan, because I didn't have a pie crust handy and didn't want to make one. It turned out fine, just with a *very* thin crust, which is what I expected. I only tossed in the tortilla to protect the bottom of the filling while it baked. 3. Made the recipe without any other changes. Results: Awesome! It's rich and wonderful, just what I wanted. However, it didn't set very quickly at all. After 40 minutes in the oven, I turned the oven off and left the pie in to see if that would help. I think it might be prettier if I'd chilled it after baking, and only cut into it when it was very firm. But, all I was going for was yummy and easy to satisfy a selfish sweet tooth after Halloween, and this fit the bill perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
I thought this was an excellent pie. I gave it 5 stars not only for taste but ease & convenience. It's nice that the filling doesn't have to be cooked on the stove prior to baking (like some sugar pie recipes). I made this recipe with the No Roll Pie Crust II from this site and our grandmother's would be envious at how little time baking a pie from scratch can take....and still turn out great. The only thing I did that the recipe doesn't state is I put the pie in @ 400 on the bottom rack for 10 mins, then turned the heat down and placed the pie on the top rack for the remaining cooking time. That's just something I do for all my pies because it helps prevent a soggy crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingSherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
Excellent....very easy to make set up very well! My first attempt at sugar pie and it worked great Note for other first timers don't fill pie shells all the way up the filling expands mine ended up messy but very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States