Brown Sugar Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
SOOOOOO GOOD! What a treat. I also made it with Graham crust. Fantastic. Must let cool thoroughly. It doesn't look set from the oven after 40 minutes, but if you let cool long enough and you can resist it, it will firm up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
Not as great as I had hoped after reading all the great reviews. It did not set and needed almost an additional 20 minutes of bake time. Then it just kind of sank in the middle. Taste was ok, but not worth it to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
Excellent....very easy to make set up very well! My first attempt at sugar pie and it worked great Note for other first timers don't fill pie shells all the way up the filling expands mine ended up messy but very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
I thought this was an excellent pie. I gave it 5 stars not only for taste but ease & convenience. It's nice that the filling doesn't have to be cooked on the stove prior to baking (like some sugar pie recipes). I made this recipe with the No Roll Pie Crust II from this site and our grandmother's would be envious at how little time baking a pie from scratch can take....and still turn out great. The only thing I did that the recipe doesn't state is I put the pie in @ 400 on the bottom rack for 10 mins, then turned the heat down and placed the pie on the top rack for the remaining cooking time. That's just something I do for all my pies because it helps prevent a soggy crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingSherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This is yummy and very easy! I have a severe dairy allergy, and was looking wistfully at my kids' Halloween haul full of chocolate, caramel, and other goodies. I started daydreaming about chess pie. This recipe looked quick and simple, so I did the following: 1. Substituted soy milk and butter-flavored Crisco for the milk and butter, respectively. 2. Tossed a tortilla in the bottom of a pie pan, because I didn't have a pie crust handy and didn't want to make one. It turned out fine, just with a *very* thin crust, which is what I expected. I only tossed in the tortilla to protect the bottom of the filling while it baked. 3. Made the recipe without any other changes. Results: Awesome! It's rich and wonderful, just what I wanted. However, it didn't set very quickly at all. After 40 minutes in the oven, I turned the oven off and left the pie in to see if that would help. I think it might be prettier if I'd chilled it after baking, and only cut into it when it was very firm. But, all I was going for was yummy and easy to satisfy a selfish sweet tooth after Halloween, and this fit the bill perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I ended up making this pie because I had a crust ready and all the ingredients on hand. I did make a few adjustments, though. I added 1T of cinnamon which was really yummy. I also used a little extra flour. And I had to bake it longer than stated. To get it "set" I baked it for 45 min. It still seemed runny, so I turned my oven down to 170 and left it in another 10 minutes. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mandan, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
This pie was simple and used everyday ingredients.It tasted pretty good and because of how easy it is I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Coniston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
This pie was great! Very good and so easy my boyfriend made it in about ten minutes! Tasted just like pecan pie without the pecans. Will definitely make again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2005
This was a great pie, very very easy. It set very well too, most sugar pies have a hard time setting properly. Had a pecan pie taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2005
This recipe is Awesome! I just tried it on a whim and minimal ingredients and I must say I was not dissapointed. I added a touch of cinnamon and nutmeg. Yummy! Thank you Donna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States