Brown Sugar Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
make sure you mix eggs in well, it can taste a little crunchy if you leave them loosely mixed. this pie is amazing, i have added to my thanksgiving menu and it is highly coveted by every crowd and soooo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christa Hardin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taylor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
It looks so good it really deserves its name and even though its very sugary, it tastes perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
This was super sweet (which you would expect from something called a sugar pie).Was the filling supposed to be runny? Not a problem. We ate it anyways. Hope a night in the refrigerator tightens it up. We topped it with whipped cream. I'd like to try this again with the addition of raisins or currants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAPISTRANO1955

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Delicious. I substituted 1/2 cup real maple syrup for 1/2 cup of the brown sugar, and increased the flour to 2 tsp, then added half-and-half cream instead of milk. The pie baked up perfectly and brought back great culinary memories from Quebec! Let cool completely before cutting. This is even better if you make it the day before you serve it (if you can wait that long to dig in!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schwartzee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Easy! Easy! Easy! What a great recipe! I tripled the recipe, made 30 tarts and 1 pie. Everyone commented on how good they were and not too sweet. Next time I will try adding raisins to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish McQuhae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Nepean, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
was a hit with my 16yr old son add a couple tsp of flour to firm up tdhink I might add a few pecans next time just to shake things up a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
This pie tasted very good, but the texture was a little odd. Also, it did not have a very pretty presentation. Mine had cracks in the top. Also, while eating this pie, I realized it was missing something. Pecans! Even though I usually eat pecan pie just for the sugary filling, ironically I miss the pecans in this pie. I think in the future I will stick to pecan pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Love this recipe.I changed the cooking time around a bit.First cooking this pie at 325 degrees for 25 min's then reducing it to 300 degrees for an additional 25 min's. Oh, and adding 2 extra tsps of flour made this pie firm just perfectly.Hats off to ya hon. Most delicious indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I have made this pie twice now - the first one turned out PERFECTLY and the second one is runny but still tasty. I couldn't wait to eat the second one so it might have set up if I had been able to wait. I followed the suggestion to bake for 10min at 400F on the bottom rack and this resulted in a perfect crust both times. I also increased the flour to 2tbsp to make sure it would set up. All in all, a super easy recipe with great flavour and it impressed the dinner guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise J.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
This pie was very tasty. I added some chopped pecans which gave it a nice texture and flavor. However, the pie was much runnier than I had expected. I needed to bake it for longer, and it sunk a bit. Then it needed to be cooled in the refrigerator for half an hour. Still, the flavor was very pleasing. I will probably not make it again because it didn't end up looking very nice, but it was worth the first bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States