Brown Sugar Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Pamcancook
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Interesting recipe, the pie or should I say pies turned out great. The filling would have been a bit to much for one frozen pie shell so instead of throwing some out I made two out of it. Sure its sweet but it is also tasty and goes great with whip cream or ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamcancook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Had to rate it because it just doesn't have lots of reviews and I think it deserves it - so loved it - easy to make. Only problem I had is I have to go make another one.... I even used milk because that's all I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Yummy! This is a dense sugar pie. I'm from Quebec and this tastes just like home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
I visited Quebec City in July 2008. I bought a slice of Tarte au Sucre in the touristy area of the city and it wasn't as great as I was expecting. This recipe is fabulous!! It's exactly what I've been told Tarte au Sucre should taste like. I'm not sure if I left it in the oven too long, because the filling had a delicious crust on it and it was like soft toffee! This may or may not have been a happy accident, but I'm glad it came out this way. You're left with bits of Tarte au Sucre in your teeth after finishing your slice, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
It came out perfectly the first time! This was great and got lots of rave reviews at dinner. It tastes way better cold than out of the oven warm. I topped it with pecans to give it a butter tart type taste. The only thing I think I will do differently is try a home made crust. Store bought crusts didn't do it justice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
It worked out perfectly! My boyfriend is originally from Quebec and said this recipe was perfect! It was super easy to make, and I just used a prepackaged pastry pie crust that you roll out. Saves so much time! Plus with this recipe it gives it a much more creamier texture since the eggs are not present, so it's not that "pumpkin pie texture"... it's firm enough that it's easy to cut and serve, but creamy enough to melt in your mouth!!! Follow these directions exactly and I promise you will succeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Excellent! If you are having problems with the pie setting, make sure you don't just "bring to a boil" as the recipe states - make sure it is a good boil (as in more than 1 or 2 bubbles!). Make sure you stir constantly and you will notice the mixture thickens to almost a pudding consistency and gets a little darker as it begins to boil. I baked it for 10 mins @ 400 on bottom rack, then moved to top rack at 350 for 20 mins. Other than that, followed recipe to a tee. I love the crispy top! =] Manifique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingSherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Surprisingly delicious. When I want pecan pie but don't have nuts on hand this is a great option, and different from the southern Chess pie. A hit with my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Freaking delicious. easy too. its realy a giant butter tart, great with whipped cream. Its very sweet, so dont put sugar in the whip. a "boil" may not happen due to the thickness, just stir real well and it will come together nice. GREAT RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jovialj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This is a great recipe. I would suggest that you mix the flour and the sugar together VERY well before adding it to the sauce pan (this helps it to set). Also, when I made it, I didn't stop stirring until about two minutes after it was boiling. This made for a very smooth texture. One last thing, I added 2 tsp of vanilla instead of just one. Beautiful pie. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States