Brown Sugar Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
After reading the other reviews, I paid close attention to what I did as I made this pie. I did not measure with great accuracy - just threw everything in a saucpan before I started to mix it all up. I let it cook for about a minute after it started to boil, and then baked it per the directions. If did not spill over, or burn. It came out of the oven hot and bubbling, and semi-firm. It set as it cooled...and was fantastic!!! Incredibly rich and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2003
Easy and really delicious. I think it serves more like 16 people not 8 because this is really rich and I don't think anyone in their right mind would have 1/8th of the pie. I loved this. It sounds like a good idea to have with vanilla ice cream but would likely be too much sweetness. I might add some pecans next time though to see how it turns out. Thanks for the recipe. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I followed this recipe to a T...turned out fabulous! I had enough filling to fill two pie crusts. Both were gone in two days :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rene016

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
I served this on Christmas'eve. I'm Canadian and I remembered this pie from my childhood. It was very good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint-Jean-Sur-Richelieu, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
I had to do a report in my French class, and use a food example. I used this pie and everyone loved it. I am 12 years old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
This was fantastic! I have lived in Quebec all my life and have never tasted a Tarte au Sucre as tasty as this one! Great recipe, super easy and quick clean up! Thanks Suzanne! Merci!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Although I could not sample this recipe myself as I am diabetic, I gave some to my friend who is francophone and grew up with this kind of pie, and I brought it to my church choir christmas party and my friend said it was just like she remembered and the choir members loved it... You really should let it boil a little before removing it from the heat, it helps it set better. Also don't fill the pie crust too full, that's when it will bubble over. thanks for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
MMmmmmm Perfect amount of sweetness. Very very good. Exactly what I was looking for. I used regular milk and it still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
This is heavenly...absolutely perfect if you have a big sweet tooth. It's so sweet that I think I will have to save it for very speciial occasions, like Christmas. I had no difficulties making it, and it paired perfectly with a nice big glass of cold milk and with a hot cup of coffee. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Initially, it came out looking cake-like around the edges and liquid in the center. After it set, it was better, but still somewhat odd. The taste was excellent, though, and more than made up for it! I would recommend coating it in caramel or drizzling with raspberry sauce to make it look and taste more delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States