Brown Sugar Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2002
After reading the other reviews, I paid close attention to what I did as I made this pie. I did not measure with great accuracy - just threw everything in a saucpan before I started to mix it all up. I let it cook for about a minute after it started to boil, and then baked it per the directions. If did not spill over, or burn. It came out of the oven hot and bubbling, and semi-firm. It set as it cooled...and was fantastic!!! Incredibly rich and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Excellent! If you are having problems with the pie setting, make sure you don't just "bring to a boil" as the recipe states - make sure it is a good boil (as in more than 1 or 2 bubbles!). Make sure you stir constantly and you will notice the mixture thickens to almost a pudding consistency and gets a little darker as it begins to boil. I baked it for 10 mins @ 400 on bottom rack, then moved to top rack at 350 for 20 mins. Other than that, followed recipe to a tee. I love the crispy top! =] Manifique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingSherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
This is definitely delicious; I'm sure I will be making it again. It's fantastic topped with vanilla ice cream--or accompanied by a tall glass of water: it's SO RICH, it almost chokes you. It's easy to prepare and impressive to guests, but it does take a while to firm once it's out of the oven... after cooling for 20-30 minutes on the stove it was still far too liquid, so I put it in the refrigerator, and it took another half hour even then. So, go ahead and make this, but bake ahead of time and let it set a good long while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
Someone please tell me what I did wrong. I followed the recipe exactly, but the pie boiled over in the oven (I had it sitting on a cookie sheet). It was still too liquidy after 30 mins. The pie crust on the edges burned where the sugar filling got on it. I would like to try again because the smell and taste are great, but it really made a mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
i am french canadian and i have made 'tarte au sucre brun' all my life using a simple recipe of pie crust, brown sugar, milk or cream...but i tried this recipe and it is to DIE FOR!! i make it every time we have 'salmon pie'...another french item especially eaten during LENT on our 'meatless days'...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Although I could not sample this recipe myself as I am diabetic, I gave some to my friend who is francophone and grew up with this kind of pie, and I brought it to my church choir christmas party and my friend said it was just like she remembered and the choir members loved it... You really should let it boil a little before removing it from the heat, it helps it set better. Also don't fill the pie crust too full, that's when it will bubble over. thanks for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
I had to do a report in my French class, and use a food example. I used this pie and everyone loved it. I am 12 years old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
I served this on Christmas'eve. I'm Canadian and I remembered this pie from my childhood. It was very good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint-Jean-Sur-Richelieu, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Alpharetta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
This was fantastic! I have lived in Quebec all my life and have never tasted a Tarte au Sucre as tasty as this one! Great recipe, super easy and quick clean up! Thanks Suzanne! Merci!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2000
Unbelievably easy to make. I liked this simple pie, it was like a pecan pie without the pecans, and not as sweet. But still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States