Brown Sugar Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
Excellent! If you are having problems with the pie setting, make sure you don't just "bring to a boil" as the recipe states - make sure it is a good boil (as in more than 1 or 2 bubbles!). Make sure you stir constantly and you will notice the mixture thickens to almost a pudding consistency and gets a little darker as it begins to boil. I baked it for 10 mins @ 400 on bottom rack, then moved to top rack at 350 for 20 mins. Other than that, followed recipe to a tee. I love the crispy top! =] Manifique!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingSherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hilton Head Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Surprisingly delicious. When I want pecan pie but don't have nuts on hand this is a great option, and different from the southern Chess pie. A hit with my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Freaking delicious. easy too. its realy a giant butter tart, great with whipped cream. Its very sweet, so dont put sugar in the whip. a "boil" may not happen due to the thickness, just stir real well and it will come together nice. GREAT RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jovialj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This is a great recipe. I would suggest that you mix the flour and the sugar together VERY well before adding it to the sauce pan (this helps it to set). Also, when I made it, I didn't stop stirring until about two minutes after it was boiling. This made for a very smooth texture. One last thing, I added 2 tsp of vanilla instead of just one. Beautiful pie. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Substituted one cup of brown sugar for one cup of maple sugar but it didn't set. Likely should have thrown a little flour into the mix. Still though; made a good (if messy) treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
i am french canadian and i have made 'tarte au sucre brun' all my life using a simple recipe of pie crust, brown sugar, milk or cream...but i tried this recipe and it is to DIE FOR!! i make it every time we have 'salmon pie'...another french item especially eaten during LENT on our 'meatless days'...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Although it took a long time to set (left it overnight), it turned out just right. Had to give it a lower rating though because everyone thought it was just TOO sweet! After eating an eighth my hands are shaking and my mind is going into hyper-drive! Could try a little more vanilla, mix in a little maple syrup or walnuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I followed this recipe to a T...turned out fabulous! I had enough filling to fill two pie crusts. Both were gone in two days :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rene016

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Initially, it came out looking cake-like around the edges and liquid in the center. After it set, it was better, but still somewhat odd. The taste was excellent, though, and more than made up for it! I would recommend coating it in caramel or drizzling with raspberry sauce to make it look and taste more delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Although I could not sample this recipe myself as I am diabetic, I gave some to my friend who is francophone and grew up with this kind of pie, and I brought it to my church choir christmas party and my friend said it was just like she remembered and the choir members loved it... You really should let it boil a little before removing it from the heat, it helps it set better. Also don't fill the pie crust too full, that's when it will bubble over. thanks for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Chess Pie

A traditional Southern sweet and rich pie.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States