Brown Sugar Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Freaking delicious. easy too. its realy a giant butter tart, great with whipped cream. Its very sweet, so dont put sugar in the whip. a "boil" may not happen due to the thickness, just stir real well and it will come together nice. GREAT RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jovialj

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
This is a great recipe. I would suggest that you mix the flour and the sugar together VERY well before adding it to the sauce pan (this helps it to set). Also, when I made it, I didn't stop stirring until about two minutes after it was boiling. This made for a very smooth texture. One last thing, I added 2 tsp of vanilla instead of just one. Beautiful pie. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Substituted one cup of brown sugar for one cup of maple sugar but it didn't set. Likely should have thrown a little flour into the mix. Still though; made a good (if messy) treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
i am french canadian and i have made 'tarte au sucre brun' all my life using a simple recipe of pie crust, brown sugar, milk or cream...but i tried this recipe and it is to DIE FOR!! i make it every time we have 'salmon pie'...another french item especially eaten during LENT on our 'meatless days'...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darryl
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
Although it took a long time to set (left it overnight), it turned out just right. Had to give it a lower rating though because everyone thought it was just TOO sweet! After eating an eighth my hands are shaking and my mind is going into hyper-drive! Could try a little more vanilla, mix in a little maple syrup or walnuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darryl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I followed this recipe to a T...turned out fabulous! I had enough filling to fill two pie crusts. Both were gone in two days :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rene016

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Initially, it came out looking cake-like around the edges and liquid in the center. After it set, it was better, but still somewhat odd. The taste was excellent, though, and more than made up for it! I would recommend coating it in caramel or drizzling with raspberry sauce to make it look and taste more delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
Although I could not sample this recipe myself as I am diabetic, I gave some to my friend who is francophone and grew up with this kind of pie, and I brought it to my church choir christmas party and my friend said it was just like she remembered and the choir members loved it... You really should let it boil a little before removing it from the heat, it helps it set better. Also don't fill the pie crust too full, that's when it will bubble over. thanks for submitting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
This is heavenly...absolutely perfect if you have a big sweet tooth. It's so sweet that I think I will have to save it for very speciial occasions, like Christmas. I had no difficulties making it, and it paired perfectly with a nice big glass of cold milk and with a hot cup of coffee. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
It is very good! It is also extremely rich! It is best eaten with vanilla Ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States