Brown Sugar Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
husband did not like texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Absolutely delicious! This was so easy to make! I put mine in a graham cracker crust. It reminds me of a caramel peacan bar, and next time I will probably toast chopped pecans and toss them on the top to add some crunch. Thanks for sharing this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This was too sweet and not "congealed" enough. I am a sweet-a-holic, but it was just too much, even for me or my husband- who also loves his sweets. I gave it two stars because the flavor was good but done wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This was delicious!! I made it for our Sunday company dinner, and it almost completely disappeared in about 5 minutes. I did as one reviewer suggested and allowed the filling to simmer until thickened.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jackson, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
I had an extra pie crust made so I decided to try this. Based on other reviews, I cut the recipe in half to make one pie and the amount was perfect. When I opened my can of evaporated milk, I found it had gone bad so I used cream. Everything came out perfectly, including the consistency (I left it in the fridge for a while before eating) not too sweet (at least for me) as others had said. I did add pecans on top which was a great addition for a butter tart fan like me. I gave this five stars because not only does it taste good but it was soooo easy as to be virtually idiot-proof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This recipe turned out great! Followed instructions and had absolutely no problems. Just make sure to let stove top mixture stay at a ROLLING boil for about 30 seconds while continuously stirring, and the pie filling should set up perfect! Tried this on my boyfriend and he LOVED this....*very rich*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jon Apel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I made this when I had about 10 people over for dinner. It was not good at all, I blamed it on trying new recipes on the net. Everyone tried it and no one wanted to take the extra pie home with them. Would not recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatherineJolliffe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Platte, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Westminster, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
I remember these when I was young and my mother use to make them. I had lost the recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I have had this in the past, and it is a diabetic's worst nightmare. Very sweet, yummy, fantastic, but what a rush for the blood sugars!!! Just to mention you only need about 1/8th to 1/4 inch deep of the liquid in the pie crust for it to be the right thickness once baked. Too much of a good thing is not better in this case. More than 3/8ths and it takes the pie into just too much for a dessert. Like someone else said, I can make it for others, but not for myself. My blood sugars rise just looking at the picture!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Bay, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
Drette ma recette :) Tellement sucrée, mais tellement bonne cette tarte au sucre!! That's my family's recipe. So sweet, yet such a good sugar pie recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

True Blue Custard Crunch Pie

A fresh blueberry pie with a sour-cream custard and crunchy streusel topping.

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States