Brown Sugar Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2002
I think the brown sugar and ketchup should be on top of the meatloaf, not in the bottom of the pan. When I sliced the meatloaf, the brown sugar/ketchup mixture remained in the bottom of the pan, so I tried to invert the pan so that the mixture would drain into and flavor the meatloaf. This was a disaster - the sauce splattered all over the kitchen. I just don't see the point of having the brown sugar/ketchup in the bottom of the pan as it didn't flavor the meat much. It should be on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2744 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2003
Delicious. I did make one alteration though. I don't like to make meatloaf in a loaf pan as i find the meat just sits in the grease. I formed my meat loaf, put it in a large casserole dish and put the glaze on the top. I was able to drain the grease 3 or 4 times during the cooking process. The glaze remained in tact and the meat came out moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2653 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I know I'm just another in a long line of reviewers, but I enjoyed this recipe just as much as everyone else! I didn't read through all the reviews, but from most of them I gathered modifications, which added up to a winning recipe! - I only used 1/4 cup of brown sugar. - I added 1 tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce to the ketchup/brown sugar mix. - I used 1/2 cup of milk and 1 egg. - I added 2 cloves of garlic to the meat mixture. Plus, I love celery, so I chopped up some of that and added it in. Finally, I used a cup of season bread crumbs instead of the crackers. Being impatient and hungry, I followed another user's idea and made mini-loves in my muffin pan. I put the ketchup/brown sugar sauce on bottom, cooked for 30 minutes at 350 degrees, then spooned the rest of the sauce on top and cooked another 15. This was so delicious, I can't wait to make it again - this time in actual loaf form. Yum yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2628 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Edina, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Very good. I placed two slices of bread in the bottom of the loaf pan. (I saw this on Foodnetwork)The bread absorbs the grease. Then I placed the meatloaf on top of the bread. I mixed the brown sugar and ketchup and spread it on top of the meatloaf and placed 4 thick slices of good bacon on top. I turned out very good. Thanks. Joyln
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1449 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFJOYLN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Clairsville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2002
This recipe was fabulous!!!! Instead of spreading the ketchup and brown sugar on the bottom of the pan I mixed them together and used it as a glaze on top of the loaf and it came out beautifully. I won't be using any other meatloaf recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
991 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2002
Yummy!! Best meatloaf I ever made. I did use onion soup mix instead of the chopped onion and only 1/4 c. milk, thought the mixture was moist enough and didnt want it to be too mushy. I also took the advise of other reviewers and used only 1/4 c. of the brown sugar and a few splashes of worcestshire with the ketchup and spread this on top of the meatloaf. Very tasty....thanks for a fabulous recipe, Starbuck!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
859 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
This was excellent! I took reviewers' suggestions and used only 1/2 cup of milk, and added garlic and 1 tblsp worcestershire to the beef. I used about 1/4+ cup of brown sugar, the catsup, and yes, a tbls of worcestershire to the glaze. Outstanding, and rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
597 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
I am not a meatloaf eater, but I found this recipe to be absolutely wonderful! My husband agreed (and he's a picky eater). I did have to tweak the ingredients a little. I used 1/3 cup of brown sugar instead of 1/2; ground turkey instead of ground beef; 1 packet of onion soup mix instead of a chopped onion; and 3/4 cup of bread crumbs instead of saltine crackers. I also mixed the ketcup and brown sugar into a glaze and used it on top of the meatloaf. I let the glaze cook on the meat for the last 15 minutes of oven time. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
410 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TGHEE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
This is very close to a recipe my mom made often, the only difference being she added some mustard(dry spice works nice) and worchestershire to the brown sugar/ketchup mixture. (We put it on top too.) That might add some zing for those that found this recipe a lil bit too sweet. I also add garlic to the meat as another reader did, as I'm a Garlic-holic myself. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
403 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATJENKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
I increased the recipe to feed 12 & then cooked most in the called-for loaf pan & the rest in a mini loaf pan. Per reviews, I made the following changes (I gave 4 stars to the recipe as written but w/ the help of the other reviewers this was 5 star).... I only used 1/2 cup of brown sugar & I did add a couple tbp. of worcestershire to the sauce. I added a pkt of onion soup mix & used half chopped onion. Decreased teh milk to 1/2 cup (remember I have increased the recipe by half) & I only put a little bit of the sauce on bottom, using most of it on top. I also used half ground beef & half ground turkey. This was moist, flavorful & hubby said it beats out his recipe. Thank you Starbuck & fellow reviewers! I served it w/ roasted sweet potatoes & onions & a salad....cherry salad (from allrecipes) for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
339 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 5,723) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States