Brown Sugar Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
My favorite, make this all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loudon, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Made this exactly as the recipe states, except I used a beed, pork, and veal mixture and I cooked it in a 13x9 pan. It was yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I wholeheartedly agree with several other reviewers that the sauce should be on top of the meatloaf instead of the bottom of the pan. When making the sauce topping, add about 1 tsp. of yellow prepared mustard to the brown sugar and ketchup. I suggest waiting until the last 15 to 20 minutes to spread the sauce over the meatloaf. Otherwise, the brown sugar will either burn or caramelize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
great meatloaf , but we put down 4 pieces of bread in a 8 x 8 casserole dish at the bottom to soak up the grease. Also, did the brown sugar / ketchup on the top , not the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justin Stovall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
turned out perfect,going to keep this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
For everyone stuck as to why the ketchup and brown sugar are on the bottom, it's for this reason: it was designed to be inverted like an upside down cake. :-) It's a vital step that has been left out. We make this all the time at our house, and we let it cool for two minutes, then invert it onto a serving platter or baking sheet. Wha-la!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champlin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This was my 1st meatloaf & it was delicious! I'm usually not a fan of ginger, but it went very well with the brown sugar. After reading the reviews, I made a few modifications to the original recipe: I used a little over 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup milk, a packet of onion soup mix instead of the onion and I mixed the ketchup + brown sugar together & added a tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce to it. I didn't have any crackers in the pantry so I used plain bread crumbs. I poured the ketchup mixture on top of the meatloaf & added a few strips of bacon to the top. Sooo good! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This is the best meatloaf ever! I did make quite a few modifications after reading the reviews, plus some of my own, which I will list. 1. I only used 1/4 cup of brown sugar and added worcestershire sauce to the glaze. 2. I only used 1/2 cup of milk and it was plenty 3. I substituted one packet of Lipton's Onion Soup mix in place of the onion 4. I used crushed Ritz crackers vs the saltines. I felt that it needed two eggs to bind the meat, plus added more protein. I put a small layer of the sauce on the bottom of the pan and put the rest on the top of the meatloaf and it came out perfect. Smelled and tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarsonMaciMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I have never been able to make a good meatloaf. This recipe is great. My meatloaf turned out wonderfully. HOWEVER, I have to say that I have since altered it somewhat. I now use 1/3 C. brown sugar (the original a little too sweet for me). I also use ground turkey and egg-beaters instead of the whole eggs. This reduces the calorie content somewhat. Also, I have used salsa instead of ketchup giving the meatloaf a snap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I accidently mixed the ketchup and brown sugar in with the meat first and then added all the rest of the ingredients, I had to add another 3/4 lb of burger because the base recipe with my mistake was to soupie. The extra burger firmed it up like it should be. I used cupcake tins and spooned a dent in the meatloaf ball then filled it with BBQ sauce. Baked for about 45 minutes, served it with mashed potato's, corn and rolls. My family loved it. My experience with making meatloaf has always been to throw everything in and mix it up. This recipe was excellent the way I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCRAMER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 5,639) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States