Brown Sugar Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This was definately a great starter recipe. I agree with a lot of other reviews that this was just missing something. I'm going to experiment and see if I can figure out what I could add. Also, the glaze of brown sugar and ketchup was great! (I like mine a little sweet) but I didn't like it being on the bottom. I lost a lot of the glaze due to the fat drippings mixing in. Overall a good recipe, and I will make it again with some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bristol, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Made this meatloaf today. I used bread crumbs, used brown sugar on bottom & Ketchup on top. It was great...oh, I put some ground pork in the mixture as well. Thanks for the recipe, I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Good recipe. Very easy to make. I put the sauce on top. I'm not understanding the sauce on the bottom. Seeing the bread trick on the bottom to soak up some of the grease on these reviews, I tried that. It worked out well. Just make sure you don't serve part of the bread when slicing up the meatloaf. Per reviews, I only used 1/2 C of milk and 1 egg, especially, since I used only 1 lb of ground chuck instead of the 1 1/2 lb. That was perfect for the 1 lb of meat. The next time I make this recipe I may try waiting to put the sauce on till closer to the end of cooking time because some of the grease rose to the top of my sauce so when I spooned that grease off I lost part of my sauce. I will probably make it again. (I have other meatloaf recipes that I like just as well.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Good recipe. I always put a couple bread slices on the bottom of the pan first and put the meatloaf on top. I totally agree that the catsup mixture needs to go on top and in the pan. Some runs off to the bottom in cooking. I switch with saltines or breadcrumbs but we like the saltines the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jairy N.
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
If you flip it over it's better ... That's how I did it so ketchup and brown sugar is on top! So delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
YUMMMMMMY!!!!!!!!! I make extra brown sugar-ketchup to dunk in. It's amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2aeg

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Clearwater Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This was perfect, I made up a ketchup, brown sugar, liquid smoke topping...gone in no time!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Wonderful meatloaf. Excellent hot as well as cold for a sandwich. I wouldn't change a bit of this recipe. It was just right the way it was written. The only thing I would say is next time I might try putting the brown sugar and ketchup on the top of the meatloaf, not that I think it would really matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Loved this and it was so easy. Even my picky kids ate it and asked for seconds. Next time I might add some honey and shredded carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reggspyt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
I made the recipe exactly as it called for. It was way too sweet for my tastes, but my husband loved it. If I made it again, I would not put as much brown sugar as was called for and maybe add some lemon juice or something to cut the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Clapp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irasburg, Vermont, USA
Living In: St. Charles, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 5,512) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States