Brown Sugar Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This is the best meatloaf ever! I did make quite a few modifications after reading the reviews, plus some of my own, which I will list. 1. I only used 1/4 cup of brown sugar and added worcestershire sauce to the glaze. 2. I only used 1/2 cup of milk and it was plenty 3. I substituted one packet of Lipton's Onion Soup mix in place of the onion 4. I used crushed Ritz crackers vs the saltines. I felt that it needed two eggs to bind the meat, plus added more protein. I put a small layer of the sauce on the bottom of the pan and put the rest on the top of the meatloaf and it came out perfect. Smelled and tasted delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarsonMaciMommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I have never been able to make a good meatloaf. This recipe is great. My meatloaf turned out wonderfully. HOWEVER, I have to say that I have since altered it somewhat. I now use 1/3 C. brown sugar (the original a little too sweet for me). I also use ground turkey and egg-beaters instead of the whole eggs. This reduces the calorie content somewhat. Also, I have used salsa instead of ketchup giving the meatloaf a snap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
I accidently mixed the ketchup and brown sugar in with the meat first and then added all the rest of the ingredients, I had to add another 3/4 lb of burger because the base recipe with my mistake was to soupie. The extra burger firmed it up like it should be. I used cupcake tins and spooned a dent in the meatloaf ball then filled it with BBQ sauce. Baked for about 45 minutes, served it with mashed potato's, corn and rolls. My family loved it. My experience with making meatloaf has always been to throw everything in and mix it up. This recipe was excellent the way I made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCRAMER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
My family loves this recipe. I followed other reviewers advice and used 1 egg, 1/2 cup of milk, 1/4 cup of brown sugar and added 2 cloves of garlic and 1 tbl Worcestershire. I also substituted the bread crumbs with oatmeal(a family thing). I put the ketchup mixture on top of the loaf instead of on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
Amazing!! I always used to put the ketchup and brown sugar on the top but with this recipe having it on the bottom is great!! While it's cooking the mixture boils up into the meatloaf making it so sweet, moist and amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shawn Moss McKinny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dalea Kamberling
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
First time makeing anything from scratch and made meatloaf I don't normally cook because I choose not to learn but this was a great first time recipe I loved it but I did put the ketup and brown sugar on top instead of on bottom and it came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dalea Kamberling

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
This is a great base for some good basic meatloaf. What I like about meatloaf and recipes like these are your afforded the luxury of tweaking a recipe like this to your liking. As
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
I followed the instruction and this was ok. The glaze was good but the meatloaf lacked flavor. Could have used more salt, pepper. Needs garlic and celery. Will try again adding more seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Don't change a thing, follow the recipe. Its sooo good. If u want to change to bread crumbs, add W sauce, etc, maybe u should try another recipe. I really liked that this recipe was different, thats why i made it and i am very glad i did. I will admit though that i did not add ginger because i was out, but definitely will next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamabaker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
Excellent! The brown sugar and ketchup topping were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 5,602) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States