Brown Sugar Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Best meatloaf I've ever had and my family agreed! I read through the reviews and looked at the pictures... it seems like almost everyone suggests to put the sugar and ketchup on the top WITHOUT even trying the actual recipe instructions. I was hesitant as well (we all grew up with sweetened ketchup baked on top of the meatloaf), but I went for it anyway. So glad I did! Instead of just the topping that you always wish you had more of, the sugar and ketchup make a marinade for the entire meatloaf but doesn't make it soggy. I would probably use a little less sugar than called for but that is just my taste. I will make my meatloaf with the brown sugar and ketchup on the bottom from now on! The ginger was a nice zing to the meat also, I've never added that to meatloaf before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuperWifey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This was definately a great starter recipe. I agree with a lot of other reviews that this was just missing something. I'm going to experiment and see if I can figure out what I could add. Also, the glaze of brown sugar and ketchup was great! (I like mine a little sweet) but I didn't like it being on the bottom. I lost a lot of the glaze due to the fat drippings mixing in. Overall a good recipe, and I will make it again with some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bristol, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Made this meatloaf today. I used bread crumbs, used brown sugar on bottom & Ketchup on top. It was great...oh, I put some ground pork in the mixture as well. Thanks for the recipe, I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2014
Good recipe. Very easy to make. I put the sauce on top. I'm not understanding the sauce on the bottom. Seeing the bread trick on the bottom to soak up some of the grease on these reviews, I tried that. It worked out well. Just make sure you don't serve part of the bread when slicing up the meatloaf. Per reviews, I only used 1/2 C of milk and 1 egg, especially, since I used only 1 lb of ground chuck instead of the 1 1/2 lb. That was perfect for the 1 lb of meat. The next time I make this recipe I may try waiting to put the sauce on till closer to the end of cooking time because some of the grease rose to the top of my sauce so when I spooned that grease off I lost part of my sauce. I will probably make it again. (I have other meatloaf recipes that I like just as well.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
Good recipe. I always put a couple bread slices on the bottom of the pan first and put the meatloaf on top. I totally agree that the catsup mixture needs to go on top and in the pan. Some runs off to the bottom in cooking. I switch with saltines or breadcrumbs but we like the saltines the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jairy N.
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
If you flip it over it's better ... That's how I did it so ketchup and brown sugar is on top! So delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
YUMMMMMMY!!!!!!!!! I make extra brown sugar-ketchup to dunk in. It's amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2aeg

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Clearwater Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
This was perfect, I made up a ketchup, brown sugar, liquid smoke topping...gone in no time!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Wonderful meatloaf. Excellent hot as well as cold for a sandwich. I wouldn't change a bit of this recipe. It was just right the way it was written. The only thing I would say is next time I might try putting the brown sugar and ketchup on the top of the meatloaf, not that I think it would really matter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Loved this and it was so easy. Even my picky kids ate it and asked for seconds. Next time I might add some honey and shredded carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reggspyt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 5,514) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Brown Sugar Smokies

Nothing beats bacon-wrapped sausages on a stick!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States