Brown Sugar Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I have made some changes. I use bread crumbs and onion soup mix instead of crackers and onions. Then I put the meat in a 9x13 pan and then add ketchup and brown sugar. I've been making this for a long time and my husband loves it. I used to bake it but since I bought my husband a smoker I smoke it for 45 mins then put on the ketchup and brown sugar. I don't measure those just eyeball it cause the sugar the first time was too much. My family loves this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Yum. My husband's favorite. We like to add a teaspoon or two of mustard into the ketchup/sugar mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
My favorite, make this all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Loudon, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
Made this exactly as the recipe states, except I used a beed, pork, and veal mixture and I cooked it in a 13x9 pan. It was yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
I wholeheartedly agree with several other reviewers that the sauce should be on top of the meatloaf instead of the bottom of the pan. When making the sauce topping, add about 1 tsp. of yellow prepared mustard to the brown sugar and ketchup. I suggest waiting until the last 15 to 20 minutes to spread the sauce over the meatloaf. Otherwise, the brown sugar will either burn or caramelize.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
great meatloaf , but we put down 4 pieces of bread in a 8 x 8 casserole dish at the bottom to soak up the grease. Also, did the brown sugar / ketchup on the top , not the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justin Stovall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
turned out perfect,going to keep this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
For everyone stuck as to why the ketchup and brown sugar are on the bottom, it's for this reason: it was designed to be inverted like an upside down cake. :-) It's a vital step that has been left out. We make this all the time at our house, and we let it cool for two minutes, then invert it onto a serving platter or baking sheet. Wha-la!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quincy, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champlin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This was my 1st meatloaf & it was delicious! I'm usually not a fan of ginger, but it went very well with the brown sugar. After reading the reviews, I made a few modifications to the original recipe: I used a little over 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup milk, a packet of onion soup mix instead of the onion and I mixed the ketchup + brown sugar together & added a tablespoon of Worcestershire sauce to it. I didn't have any crackers in the pantry so I used plain bread crumbs. I poured the ketchup mixture on top of the meatloaf & added a few strips of bacon to the top. Sooo good! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 5,602) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Grilled Brown Sugar Pork Chops

Sweet and juicy, brown sugar pork chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States