Brown Sugar Instant Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Very good! I used 2 eggs and substitute the oil for cinnamon applesauce. Also used 3 packets of oatmeal instead of 2 and added some chopped pecans to streusel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I used regular quick oats, substitue brown sugar for white, buttermilk instead of milk&butter crisco instead of oil.Also added a dash of cinnamon to the batter, along with a drop of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Family liked these, but I modified it based on suggestions of other reviewers. CHANGES: 1) subbed apple cinnamon applesauce for veg oil 2) used 1/2 cup sugar instead of 1/3 cup 3) added an extra egg 4) added 1/2 tsp vanilla & 1/2 tsp maple flavoring to batter 5) added closer to 1/2 tsp cinnamon to streusel topping. Giving 4 stars because it had to be tweaked, but is probably closer to a 4.5. Next time I might add a little more maple flavoring & some cinnamon to the batter., as it was a little bland for my son ( and me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Thank you very much to the person who posted this recipe. My family loves muffins and I had many packages of instant oatmeal to use up so I have been experimenting with different flavours. yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Good, basic muffins, but they are a little bland, so I'd add vanilla or maple flavoring next time to the muffin batter itself, and maybe some cinnamon as well. They are incredibly easy, however, and versatile, I'm sure, so I may make other changes next time with the type of instant oatmeal. We have tons of the instant oatmeal mix and I almost grabbed the cinnamon roll one since I had a hard time finding the maple brown sugar one initially. The servings are right on and I had 12 perfectly baked up muffins, but I had to bake an extra 10 minutes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Definitely add another egg. I did and my muffins didn't come out dense or heavy at all. If you like your muffins on the sweeter side, then you might want to add more sugar. I just threw in about 2 more tbs or so and it was just the right amount of sweetness for me. When I bake and the recipe calls for milk, I use buttermilk instead (made my own - 1 tbs of vinegar + 1 cup of milk). Don't overmix the batter! Happy baking ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Quick and easy, but bland, despite adding vanilla and more sugar. I used strawberry-vanilla instant oatmeal because that's what I had. I used an extra egg and the texture is great, but I should have put cinnamon in the batter as well as the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I applied many of the changes. Even with fresh nutmeg and raisins there was little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I added more sugar and added vanilla. I still felt it needed to be a bit sweeter. It also needed 5 minutes longer in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathiJo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
The muffins were good, next time I will use 2 eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Meriden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States