Brown Sugar Instant Oatmeal Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Family liked these, but I modified it based on suggestions of other reviewers. CHANGES: 1) subbed apple cinnamon applesauce for veg oil 2) used 1/2 cup sugar instead of 1/3 cup 3) added an extra egg 4) added 1/2 tsp vanilla & 1/2 tsp maple flavoring to batter 5) added closer to 1/2 tsp cinnamon to streusel topping. Giving 4 stars because it had to be tweaked, but is probably closer to a 4.5. Next time I might add a little more maple flavoring & some cinnamon to the batter., as it was a little bland for my son ( and me).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReeRee's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
Thank you very much to the person who posted this recipe. My family loves muffins and I had many packages of instant oatmeal to use up so I have been experimenting with different flavours. yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Good, basic muffins, but they are a little bland, so I'd add vanilla or maple flavoring next time to the muffin batter itself, and maybe some cinnamon as well. They are incredibly easy, however, and versatile, I'm sure, so I may make other changes next time with the type of instant oatmeal. We have tons of the instant oatmeal mix and I almost grabbed the cinnamon roll one since I had a hard time finding the maple brown sugar one initially. The servings are right on and I had 12 perfectly baked up muffins, but I had to bake an extra 10 minutes. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Definitely add another egg. I did and my muffins didn't come out dense or heavy at all. If you like your muffins on the sweeter side, then you might want to add more sugar. I just threw in about 2 more tbs or so and it was just the right amount of sweetness for me. When I bake and the recipe calls for milk, I use buttermilk instead (made my own - 1 tbs of vinegar + 1 cup of milk). Don't overmix the batter! Happy baking ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
Quick and easy, but bland, despite adding vanilla and more sugar. I used strawberry-vanilla instant oatmeal because that's what I had. I used an extra egg and the texture is great, but I should have put cinnamon in the batter as well as the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
I did not care for this recipe. I applied many of the changes. Even with fresh nutmeg and raisins there was little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
I added more sugar and added vanilla. I still felt it needed to be a bit sweeter. It also needed 5 minutes longer in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathiJo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
The muffins were good, next time I will use 2 eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Meriden, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This is such a quick and easy recipe to make. Reading some of the other reviews I was a little concerned with the fact they may be so dry, so I did add the extra egg, 1.5 teaspoons maple extract and used 1/2 cup of sugar. If you are after a light and fluffy muffin then these are not for you, they certainly more robust but I would not say they were dry. Next time I plan on making them with some of the other instant oatmeal flavors like cinnamon and apple. I loved the look of these muffins, nice high peaks like you get from a bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I made some of the changes others' suggested (one of my favorite things about allrecipes) - such as adding an additional egg and vanilla. I used brown sugar instead of white and a little more baking powder (1T). I also added a package of the oatmeal to the streusel topping since I had an extra one, and 2 mashed bananas to the mix. The muffins were light in texture and flavor and had nice high peaks - so they were very appealing in appearance too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

Vegan Agave Cornbread Muffins

This vegan cornbread is made with whole-wheat flour and agave syrup.

Apple Strudel Muffins

See how to make apple muffins with a crumbly cinnamon topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States