Brown Sugar Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I would like to say that I love to bake and love fudge. That being said, I was a fudge virgin and had never made it before. The author of he recipe negated to disclose how high do you heat the fudge? I boiled for 5 minutes on high, and my fudge burnt. I am sure, that had I known you do not cook fudge on high on the stove, that this recipe would have turned out. This information should have been disclosed in the cooking instuctions. The rsult: an 8"x8" dark brown brick(not kidding, I could not even score the surface with a knife)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This recipe has eluded me for years. My mom made it for years and lost it! This is exactly what I was looking for. I agree with the member who boiled it for 10 minutes and stirred for 5 minutes. Turns out perfectly. Just like I remember!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
We made this exactly as stated and it was crumbly, couldn't cut it into squares. Taste was ok but consistency was awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Barnes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Excellent tasting and very easy to make.I've made 6 batches in the last 24 hours to give away to co-workers. I did struggle to make the 1 inch cubes retain their shape when putting in gift boxes. After trying to cut it at room temp, at semi-chilled and totally refridgerated- I concluded that the fudge cubes turned out perfect-shaped when 100% refridgerated. Note: they were very hard to carve at 35 degrees so please be careful with the knife! Just go slow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This recipe turns out great every time. You need to use a timer. DO NOT just guess. If you want to be even more precise, you need to use a candy thermometer and boil the mixture to 238 F. Soft ball stage. If you use a thermometer, you don't need to time it. :) I use less confectioners sugar - more like 1.25 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This is a nice, creamy fudge. It does not make very much, which is good for the two of us. If there are more of you, you will want to double it. One thing I found different, was adding salt. Next time I make this I'll leave the salt out. I find it gives a "biting" taste that does not taste good...although I can certainly taste the rest of the ingredients. I used beaters to beat the fudge and it doesn't take long at all to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Followed the recipe exactly, came out like sand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brett Furst

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2014
OMG this fudge is SO good. It turns out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arynn Sprague

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Made this fudge 2 years in a row for charity bake sale. Sold out both times. Delicious, especially with double the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Easy to make, especially when a candy thermometer is not available! Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

This fudge is sinfully rich but a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States