Brown Sugar Fudge Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
I would like to say that I love to bake and love fudge. That being said, I was a fudge virgin and had never made it before. The author of he recipe negated to disclose how high do you heat the fudge? I boiled for 5 minutes on high, and my fudge burnt. I am sure, that had I known you do not cook fudge on high on the stove, that this recipe would have turned out. This information should have been disclosed in the cooking instuctions. The rsult: an 8"x8" dark brown brick(not kidding, I could not even score the surface with a knife)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
This recipe has eluded me for years. My mom made it for years and lost it! This is exactly what I was looking for. I agree with the member who boiled it for 10 minutes and stirred for 5 minutes. Turns out perfectly. Just like I remember!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
We made this exactly as stated and it was crumbly, couldn't cut it into squares. Taste was ok but consistency was awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Excellent tasting and very easy to make.I've made 6 batches in the last 24 hours to give away to co-workers. I did struggle to make the 1 inch cubes retain their shape when putting in gift boxes. After trying to cut it at room temp, at semi-chilled and totally refridgerated- I concluded that the fudge cubes turned out perfect-shaped when 100% refridgerated. Note: they were very hard to carve at 35 degrees so please be careful with the knife! Just go slow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
This recipe turns out great every time. You need to use a timer. DO NOT just guess. If you want to be even more precise, you need to use a candy thermometer and boil the mixture to 238 F. Soft ball stage. If you use a thermometer, you don't need to time it. :) I use less confectioners sugar - more like 1.25 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
This is a nice, creamy fudge. It does not make very much, which is good for the two of us. If there are more of you, you will want to double it. One thing I found different, was adding salt. Next time I make this I'll leave the salt out. I find it gives a "biting" taste that does not taste good...although I can certainly taste the rest of the ingredients. I used beaters to beat the fudge and it doesn't take long at all to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Made this fudge 2 years in a row for charity bake sale. Sold out both times. Delicious, especially with double the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Easy to make, especially when a candy thermometer is not available! Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
I found this recipe because I had planned to make Maple Walnut fudge and couldn't find maple extract anywhere. So I found this. My first batch came out far to soft. The second batch came out so hard it was brutal to cut. But it was sooooo delicous. Melt-in-your-mouth delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This turned out perfectly! I used to make a similar fudge a long time ago, but had lost my recipe. This was a little different, as I know I never used confectioner's sugar. The recipe is simple and the timing directions are easier than temperature testing or soft-ball judging. I followed the directions exactly and used the fudge and a gift to my sister, who used to make brown sugar fudge with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Aunt Teen's Creamy Chocolate Fudge

Rich and creamy fudge with the satisfying crunch of chopped walnuts.

Old-Fashioned Chocolate Fudge

See how to make simple old-fashioned chocolate fudge.

Easiest Peanut Butter Fudge

This fudge is sinfully rich but a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States