Brown Sugar Cut-Out Cookies and Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
Loved these cookies. Were easy to make and roll out. I added one egg to the recipe, but followed the rest of it. The cookies were very moist and the icing was great. Plan to use this icing on cakes as well. Very, very yummy and my kids were able to help with the whole thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
very good recipe i had to add a little bit of water to make more of a dough. I also added one egg.For flavor I added some pumpkin spice inside and pumpkin spice/sugar for the top. plain ones with mint chocolate chips on top were awsome.my 9 year old loved them. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2005
Great recipe- ity definitely rivals regular cout out cookies! I added an egg to the recipe and the result was extra moist cookies that remained soft even days later. They seemed better rolled out on the thick side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I made this recipe for a "girls day" my 7 year old had. I made a batch and a half and there was plenty of dough for the 6 kids to roll out. I added 2 medium eggs to the batter, as noted by other reviewers. The dough was tasty and easy to work with and the cookies have stayed nice and soft. I skipped the frosting (too many hands in the kitchen this time around) so no comment on that. I made the dough a day in advance, rolled it out on 5 sheets and left it in the freezer till we were ready to use it - worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNIEMILANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
These cookies were great. Unlike most cookies these were still soft and moist the next week. I even warmed 1/2 of the milk just enough to disolve a teaspoon of instant coffee and added it to 1/2 the dough to give a coffee taste, since I am a coffee junkie lol and they were great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Instead of milk I added 1 cup sour cream. I also increased the vanilla to 1 Tbls. instead of 1 tsp. I added cinnamon to the roll out flour. I did not have to chill at all. these rolled out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Balaton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
It's simple, it's GREAT and it's yummy. I myself like them as tea biscuits. They're excellent, not strong or overbearing. Thank You for Sharing this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oneida, New York, USA
Living In: Regional Municipality Of Niagara, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
My nine year old son is a budding chef who never likes to follow recipes. He made these cookies AWESOME! Best cookies I've ever had in my mouth! He added an egg, more milk, some peanut butter, marshmallow creme, and dark chocolate chunks until the dough was soft. He didn't make the frosting and didn't chill them first. They are unbelievable!!! We made 36 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
I also added an egg to the batter as other reviewers did, and had to add more milk. The dough was almost as crumbly as a graham cracker pie crust w/o them! I didn't cut them out w/ cutters, I just sliced them after refrigeration to make it easier and faster than cut-outs. I wanted them rounded for egg shapes for easter.The cookies tasted good, not very sweet, but a good flavor. Goes well with any frosting...adds more sweetness. I saved some plain to have with coffe. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrwdMthr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
I followed the recipe and found I had to add more milk in order for it to become doughy because of the excess amount of flour included. I don't think I'll use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States