Brown Sugar Cut-Out Cookies and Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2007
This recipe is replacing my old standard for sugar cookies. They were delicious and I have had many request for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Instead of milk I added 1 cup sour cream. I also increased the vanilla to 1 Tbls. instead of 1 tsp. I added cinnamon to the roll out flour. I did not have to chill at all. these rolled out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Balaton, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
I loved this recipe and the cookies tasted great! With so little liquid initially and so much flour, the dough looked like finely crushed graham cracker. Then adding milk, a little at a time, got the dough to a consistancy I liked. Sort of clay-like, somewhat stiff. It was super easy to roll, GREAT for cutouts. I loved the idea to use wax paper under and on top. The cookies cooked up perfectly. The kids and I like soft cookies, while hubby likes more crunch. We timed baking accordingly and was great both ways. Yes, it's not that sweet - but that's what makes this an awesome icing cookie. You don't get bowled over by the sweetness. AND it's not as hi fat as other cookies. A keeper? You bet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Plaines, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
My family loves this recipe! I make these cookies for every holiday. I did have to add more milk and an egg for the dough to form but it was well worth it. The icing is wonderful and enhances the taste of the cookie even more. These cookies always come out very soft and scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
I also added an egg to the batter as other reviewers did, and had to add more milk. The dough was almost as crumbly as a graham cracker pie crust w/o them! I didn't cut them out w/ cutters, I just sliced them after refrigeration to make it easier and faster than cut-outs. I wanted them rounded for egg shapes for easter.The cookies tasted good, not very sweet, but a good flavor. Goes well with any frosting...adds more sweetness. I saved some plain to have with coffe. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PrwdMthr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lowell, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2006
I followed the recipe and found I had to add more milk in order for it to become doughy because of the excess amount of flour included. I don't think I'll use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
My nine year old son is a budding chef who never likes to follow recipes. He made these cookies AWESOME! Best cookies I've ever had in my mouth! He added an egg, more milk, some peanut butter, marshmallow creme, and dark chocolate chunks until the dough was soft. He didn't make the frosting and didn't chill them first. They are unbelievable!!! We made 36 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
NOT MY FAVORITE RECIPE FOR COOKIES....TO MUCH DRY INGREDIENTS AND NOT ENOUGH WET....THEY WERE OK...MY 2 YEAR OLD LIKES EM....BUT WHAT 2 YR OLD WOULDNT...HAHA...IT IS A COOKIE!! BUT..I DONT THINK I WILL MAKE THESE AGAIN!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
I liked that these cookies were not very sweet, but they were too much like eating biscuits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Had to add extra milk, but they turned out great. A big hit. :) I didn't have cookie cutters or a rolling pin, but I improvised with cleverly used cups and they turned out great. :) The icing seems to have different consistency each time I make it, though....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States