Brown Sugar Cut-Out Cookies and Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Definitely needed to DOUBLE the milk amount to have good consistency. I agree that the labor required is not worth the results--biscuit-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I like that these are not as sweet as other sugar cookie recipes. I followed the suggestions I saw in the comment section and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AK-Willis
Home Town: Fairton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
great recipe for kids my daughters love to eat the dough and with no raw eggs his was a-okay for them! they enjoyed cutting out cookies too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I heavily rely on the reviews on this website. Usually they are pretty accurate. These are not! the only alteration I made were adding the egg and uping the vanilla to 1 T. These cookies were horrible. They rolled out nicely, but the bake time was completely off, and they stuck to my pan. I will not be trying them again. It was a lot of work and ingredients for poor results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Hamingson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I made these for a going away party and everyone loved them! Icing was great and made it easy to decorate. I also added 1 egg and additional milk for the dough, but they had more of a biscuit texture than I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I made this recipe for a "girls day" my 7 year old had. I made a batch and a half and there was plenty of dough for the 6 kids to roll out. I added 2 medium eggs to the batter, as noted by other reviewers. The dough was tasty and easy to work with and the cookies have stayed nice and soft. I skipped the frosting (too many hands in the kitchen this time around) so no comment on that. I made the dough a day in advance, rolled it out on 5 sheets and left it in the freezer till we were ready to use it - worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNIEMILANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I had to add about 3/4 cup of milk to make this dough workable.Is there too much flour in the recipe?Seems to me there is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This was one of the worst recipes I have ever used! I had to throw all of the cookies away and I wasted a lot of time. They were extremely dry and the only time they were decent is when they came right out of the oven. If your recipe needs more stuff in it make sure you put it in. They also had no taste. It was like trying to eat cardboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Campbell, Ohio, USA
Living In: Struthers, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
I received loads of compliments on these cookies (do not overbake--they do not appear golden brown but if you bake too long they will be hard). One great thing about this recipe is that the frosting amount is perfect for the cookies. Normally I end up with a half a bowl of frosting left over!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
i was pretty disappointed in this recipe...everyone gave it such high reviews, yet most people said they had to add an egg and extra moisture. i found that i had to add an egg and extra milk and they still did not taste fabulous. : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States