Brown Sugar Cut-Out Cookies and Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Very easy to make! I baked these with a 7 year old today, nothing so complicated that she lost interest. While the dough was chilling we made the icing in numerous colors. Both turned out wonderful. I would recommend this recipe to anyone who wants to teach a child to bake cookies, very child friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lgcyfrms

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
There is way too much flour in this recipe. You can't even form a dough from it. I had to add in more wet ingredients to do anything with it and it was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
This is a good cookie option for those who can't have eggs. After cooking, the cookie will not have the firm "bite" that a cookie with eggs would have, but it still tastes good. I made the following changes: added a little extra milk to get the dough to bind together, increased the cooking time to 9 minutes. When I took the cookies out at 6 minutes, they weren't fully cooked and even after cooling fell apart because they were so doughy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merryc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Definitely needed to DOUBLE the milk amount to have good consistency. I agree that the labor required is not worth the results--biscuit-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I like that these are not as sweet as other sugar cookie recipes. I followed the suggestions I saw in the comment section and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Fisher Willis
Home Town: Fairton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
great recipe for kids my daughters love to eat the dough and with no raw eggs his was a-okay for them! they enjoyed cutting out cookies too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I heavily rely on the reviews on this website. Usually they are pretty accurate. These are not! the only alteration I made were adding the egg and uping the vanilla to 1 T. These cookies were horrible. They rolled out nicely, but the bake time was completely off, and they stuck to my pan. I will not be trying them again. It was a lot of work and ingredients for poor results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Hamingson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I made these for a going away party and everyone loved them! Icing was great and made it easy to decorate. I also added 1 egg and additional milk for the dough, but they had more of a biscuit texture than I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I made this recipe for a "girls day" my 7 year old had. I made a batch and a half and there was plenty of dough for the 6 kids to roll out. I added 2 medium eggs to the batter, as noted by other reviewers. The dough was tasty and easy to work with and the cookies have stayed nice and soft. I skipped the frosting (too many hands in the kitchen this time around) so no comment on that. I made the dough a day in advance, rolled it out on 5 sheets and left it in the freezer till we were ready to use it - worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNIEMILANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I had to add about 3/4 cup of milk to make this dough workable.Is there too much flour in the recipe?Seems to me there is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States