Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 11, 2008
delicious will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
This looked good to me when I read the recipe and I was happy to find a new frosting since I'm always making the same few. But even though I more than doubled both brown sugar and honey it still wasn't very sweet. Maybe if I liked cream cheese a little more it would have helped. I usually like cream cheese frosting but this one was not a pleasing taste or texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arlington, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
I thought this was only so-so. I did not really think it out before hand, but 8oz. cream cheese does not really make enough frosting for a cake or anything large. I used this recipe on the Frosted Banana Bars from this site and had to scramble to make a second batch to cover all of the bars. I also felt that it was not sweet enough (tasted like something I'd spread on a bagel instead of a cake) so I added some powdered sugar to make it more of a traditional cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
I really enjoyed it, my husband prefers a traditional cream cheese frosting though. I did add a little extra brown sugar (only had dark brown) and left out the almond extract since my children and husband don't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
My roommate was making up a box of carrot cake muffins, and asked me to help her with the frosting. I couldn't find my measuring spoons, so I just eyeballed everything and I can't believe how good it turned out! Our other roommate probably ate half right out of the bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessi

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This was surprising. I have made cream cheese frosting for years, and it was only when I ran out of confectioners, did I try this recipe. Makes a really nice frosting with a nice complex flavor you don't get using confectioners sugar. I used it on a fruit cocktail cake recipe I got on this site. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bakergrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I don't know what was wrong with this icing, but it did not taste good. I had to add ingredients to try to make it tasty, but my whole family disliked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Fantastic cream cheese frosting recipe. Especially if you do not have confectioner's sugar on hand! I made it with the full amount of almond extract and it is good, but you have to like almond extract. You could easily do with out it. There is enough flavor there with the vanilla, ceam cheese, and honey. I put this frosting on the onebowl chocolate cake III on this site (made cupcakes, with hot coffee substituted for the boiling water) It made an intense dark chocolate flavor and so I needed a not so sweet but flavorful frosting. Fantastic together. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamlin, New York, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
Awesome. I used extra honey for the sugar and omitted the butter. Everyone loved it! Beware though, the almond flavor is strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
To me, this just tasted like whipped-up cream cheese, not frosting. That being said, I did omit the honey, though I cannot imagine that would have helped much. It did add something to my cake, a cinnamon-swirl sheet cake, but I only had enough to frost half of it...maybe a good thing?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHELWEEDEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States