Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
This frosting is so good. I did not find the almond flavor too overpowering at all. I used it on the banana bar recipe found on this site. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Perfect. I just omitted the almond extract because I didn't have any at home but I will try it again with 1/2 tsp almond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Enjoyed the cream cheese flavor, it was very sweet!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I frosted a spice cake with this and it's ok. I thought it was a little too almondy so I'll stick to the traditional cream cheese frosting or maybe omit the almond extract next time. My mom really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
i made this and i put about a teaspoon less of butter and two more of brown sugar. pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Best frosting for carrot cake by far. Very creamy and a great flavor. I make Sam's Famous Carrot Cake from this site which is fantastic cake with no frosting at all. This frosting on that cake is double superlicious. For my taste most cream cheese frosting recipes are too sweet and heavy. Happy to find a delicious frosting that doesn't overpower the cake. I doubled the recipe except I only used 1/2 teaspoon of almond extract. I prefer to leave out the vanilla extract and add a little more honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
It was okay I guess. Not my type
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Amazing light, fluffy frosting! The flavor is just different enough from traditional cream cheese frosting to notice. I did substitute Neufchatel for the cream cheese and I think it tastes great anyway. I absolutely love it, thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This is a great frosting recipe!!!!!!!!! I was in a pinch (making a last minute cake for a friend)and happened to have all the ingredients for the cake and frosting except for the exorbitant amounts of powdered sugar or butter that most frosting recipes call for. I stumbled across this and made it using 2 tsps. of vanilla and omitting the almond extract. I whipped it with the whisk attachment in my kitchenaid mixer for about 5 minutes and it was fantastic! The honey was a nice touch and seemed to allow the frosted cake to maintain a very nice sheen to it while keeping it's gooey texture (I hate frostings that set up to a shell like or skin like texture)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stephstaggs

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2009
perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States