Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
Wow, this frosting is amazing! It has such a unique taste. It is just perfect. I just used it to frost my chocolate pumpkin cake. (also found on this website)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ulster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
I followed this recipe AND included 1/2 tsp almond extract. I had no problem with the flavor. I consider myself a seasoned baker with a good amount of experience. I suspect that those who did not like the flavor might have used imitation extracts instead of pure extracts. The difference between the two is exponential. I don't allow imitation anything in my house. Had I made the icing with imitation extract I would have spit it out myself. I feel it is unnecessary to melt the butter, just get it to room temp first before adding to the cream cheese. If you like cream cheese icing, there's nothing not to like with this recipe. I did not increase the amounts of anything in this recipe and found it a nice side complement to the Martha Stewart Spicy Pumpkin Bundt Cake Recipe which is excellent. Also followed that recipe exactly. There is not much volume because this has less butter and sugar than normal cream cheese icing so if you need a lot, double the recipe or consider adding more brown sugar and butter. It was not grainy at all. The since all the ingredients are room temp, the sugar dissolves and blends in just fine. I used honey that was created locally, not commercial mass marketed honey. I don't think this recipe needs more sugar. The point is to eat it with the cake in your mouth which has sugar in it already. You'll find the flavors meld well. But if you eat it alone, don't expect it to taste like high fructose processed icing from a container. It tastes like cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
An excellent alternative to powdered sugar based cream cheese frosting. As other reviewers have suggested, I increased the brown sugar and honey and omitted the almond extract. I used this to frost Buttermilk Cinnamon Rolls, also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
I used about 6 T of brown sugar and 2 T of honey. I left out the almond extract. This was sooo perfect for my banana apple cupcakes. This icing is divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2007
Omit the almond extract. I made this recipe for a carrot cake. The almond overpowered the rest of the flavors and no one really like it. Started over with just the vanilla and it was so much better. Will make again with just the vanilla next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCFD Fire Station 6

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
Very good. I think it would have been better if I had stuck to the recipe. I used it as a jumping point to frost a peach melba cake. I added too much liquid to it, but it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkecupcakequeen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
This was a delicious cream cheese frosting. I skipped the almond extract because I didn't have any. I used it on 'Fudge Cake' also from this site. My fiance did not care for the combination, but like the icing. Will try it on a spice cake next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLSPET

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Weirton, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Venetia, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I used part of this "as is" as a filling between layers of a spice cake (Nutmeg Feather Cake, also from this site, and fabulous!) and then added just a little confectioners sugar and milk to the rest to make a thin glaze, which I poured sparingly over the top of the cake. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
awesome recipe! i left out the almond extract cuz i didnt have any on hand, but it still turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
I didn't like the almond extract in this at all. It was too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States