Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Yay! I finally found the reduced sugar Cream Cheese Frosting I have been looking for. I used Neufchatel cheese (reduced fat cream cheese) because I always do and subbed Agave Nectar because I was out of honey. I am one of those who gets annoyed when people drastically alter a recipe and then review it, but I think these changes are very subtle and did not really change the finished product much.The frosting is so creamy and lightly sweet; not the sugar attack you get from a lot of frostings. It is now on the Nutmeg Feather Cake, also from this site, sitting in the fridge waiting for my daughter's birthday tonight. I only wish I could cut into it now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie Deysenroth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
I really liked this icing. I was so happy to come across this recipe since I was out of confectioners sugar. It was very cream and the only thing I did was add 1 Tbsp of white sugar to sweeten it up a bit. I put it on the One Bowl Chocolate Cake 111 recipe on this site by Shirleyo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
No so good. The taste was just a little off and almost sour. I ended up discarding it and making a traditional cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cloomis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Modesto, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I found the cream cheese to be too sour with this mix of ingredients. I ended up adding a bit more butter and and a lot more powdered sugar to make it an acceptable frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Edina, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Perfection on a pumpkin/applesauce cake (without almond since I had none). The ingredients are mainly kitchen staples here so this one was a treasure to find. Several requests for 'extra dollops' of frosting so we have a winner! Thanks for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I liked the almond extract (always use pure extract, never imitation). However, it was not quite sweet enough for my husband. So, I added brown sugar and omitted the honey. I wanted the consistency smooth/thin enough to flow down the sides of a bunt cake so I added just a little milk. Yummy!! I put it on an Apple Pie Cake. Perfect!! I got rave reviews at a church luncheon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by davidsmom
Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Great frosting. I was looking for a cream cheese frosting that didn't have powdered sugar in it because I am out. I will definitely use this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAZ123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This stuff tasted like magic. I substituted coconut palm sugar instead of brown sugar, and used it on a banana cake (I believe it was Banana Cake II on this site, actually) and it was a perfect match. One of the people at the party commented that she'd like to eat a bowl of this frosting on its own, so that's pretty high praise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Decided to try this recipe as I did not have any confectioners sugar on hand, which most recipes seem to require. I left out the almond extract and instead of using honey, I used maple syrup! Also, I used half as much butter. In the end, I thought it was delicious on top of my pumpkin cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
OMGosh you could eat this by the spoon fulls!! Its not your typical frosting texture due to not having powder sugar. Its more like a butter spread. It has a little tartness to it but once you hit that tartness the sugar kicks in with the vanilla then almond flavor! A little thing I did was it says to let the butter cool. So I took the brown sugar and let it soak the butter up with the vanilla and almond that cooled it down a little faster. Yum! I will be spreading this on my banana bread tonight!! Thank you for a new keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyoftwo247

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States