Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
I made a sugar free version. Used for bagel spread. Replaced 2 T of brown sugar for the Splenda version of brown sugar. Did not use any confectioners sugar...just 2 T of Splenda. Did not use almond extract, just vanilla. My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
This is SO GOOD!!!! I love brown sugar and I love cream cheese so together they are amazing. But beware, it took me 3 tries to get it right! The first and second time was when I wasn't as skilled in baking so now it helped to know to beat the cream cheese seperately until fluffy and then add the butter, white sugar, powdered sugar (which I thought it would need to be fluffy so I put about 3/4 cup in), and the vanilla. I omitted the almond just because I dont have any. Also, before beating the cream cheese, it helps to put your bowl (preferably glass or metal) and beaters in the freezer to get cold and then use it while they're still chilly. I used this on the Deep Chocolate Raspberry Cake from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I followed the directions as given. I really liked the taste and texture. However, I put it on my pumpkin bundt cake, which I was giving to someone for christmas, and the icing didn't hold up well... it was kind of gummy by the second day, even though i had it well covered. That is my only complaint. If you plan to use this icing, make sure it is going to be used up right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I wanted a frosting to put between leftover cinnamon grahams for a treat for my two boys. I cut this recipe in half which was the perfect amount. This frosting is so nom. I'd love to try this again on Snickerdoodle Cake or between ginger cookies. This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I wasn't completely impressed. I barely had enough to frost a 9x13 cake and the almond was pretty strong. I probably won't bother making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAVENDERANGEL69

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
I saw the receipt, printed the receipt, made the receipt & spread it on a yellow cake made with splenda(already baked). All I can say is YUM! I am border line diabetic and 2 Tbls brown sugar and 1 Tbl honey is just right. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E Pennywell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hastings, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Not so tasty... vanilla and almond overpowered the frosting. Hope were high, success was low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This is excellent and super easy to make. followed recipe exactly. I was originally looking for a cream cheese frosting for a carrot cake, but I didn't have any confectioner's sugar on hand. Decided on this one and so glad I did. Its very creamy and light. I might use less almond next time. thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
Nummy! I like this better than regular icing - this is not too sweet, as often happens when using powdered sugar. Mine came out soft, but I must have overbeat it. It doesn't matter, because it spread easily, tastes really good, and looks good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paintsville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Cartersville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
delicious will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States