Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Used this to make cake balls also from this site. wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SooperLowa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
This was great! I was looking for a frosting for a spice cake that didn't require powdered sugar, as I was all out. I read the reviews and noted that some people said there wasn't enough to frost a whole cake, and as I was frosting a two-layer 9-inch round cake, I added half of another package of cream cheese just in case (and adjusted other ingredients accordingly). It's a good thing I did - I would have had to REALLY stretch if I had made it as written, and I don't load my cakes with frosting, either. Also, I didn't have almond extract, but I think it would have been divine if I had. If you're looking for a super-sweet, sugary frosting, this isn't it. But personally, I don't like frostings so sweet my teeth hurt just by being in proximity, so this was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kumquatgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Came out really good. Not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Nassau, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
This is excellent on the 'Carrot Cake III' recipe! It was just sweet enough for it without being TOO sweet. I made the recipe on cupcakes and it kept well in the fridge b/c I didn't frost all of them at once. Very Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This THE best icing for apple spice, carrot, and other earthy cakes!! I think it is excellent, but suggest cutting back a tiny bit on the honey as I find it makes for better consistency. Great and EASY easy easy recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookieMonster

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
This was delicious on cinnamon rolls, I did omit the almond extract just because I didn't have any on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
I didn't have any vanilla, almond extract, or honey and it come out yummy! Can't wait to try with the honey and vanilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
Not sweet enough for me, whips up nicely though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
This tasted great and was super easy. I doubled the recipe to fill a 9" four layer Pumpkin Cake III, which I then iced with the Maple Buttercream from the Duchess Spice Cake. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Terrific frosting! I doubled this to use over a pumpkin spice cake, and it was great. I added some cinnamon and nutmeg to complement the flavor of the cake but otherwise followed the recipe exactly (or as exactly as I ever measure anything). I didn't find the almond extract too overpowering. Will definitely make again! Only four stars because it didn't actually "stiffen" or become "light and fluffy" -- it was a pretty dense frosting, but that didn't certainly change my opinion of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahmarie_co

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States