Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
good frosting, I halved the cream cheese, worked great on Tomato Soup Cake, added some cinnamon, omitted the almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Needed a quick frosting for banana cake & found this...did substitute banana extract for the almond...it came out really delicious. Good, quick, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFWife88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Nothing wrong with this recipe at all --- It was quick, easy, and it turned out beautifully --- But nevertheless, I'm only going to give it three stars, as it was much too bland for my personal tastes. I was expecting a much sweeter and more flavourful frosting, but to me it didn't taste like much more than a mild version of cream cheese with a hint of vanilla thrown in. My family quite liked it, though, so that tells me as long as you aren't making this with the same flavour expectations I had, then you should be fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Great recipe! Used it on a red velvet cake and it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by youngwoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Loved the easee of the recipe. i just didn't think the flavor was so good. I loved the consistency. I will try again and again til I get it right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThaChocolateDiva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pikesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I agree with some of the other reviews- the almond was a little over powering but overall it was a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sonnibunnies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Great recipe when you find yourself with no powder sugar. We increased the vanilla and left out the almond due to taste preference. Thanks for the recipe. It saved me, as my sticky buns were in the oven when I realized I had no powdered sugar :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fitfreak18

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This frosting is divine. The only thing I did differently is halved the almond extract, I knew it would overpower the other flavours with one full tsp. I also highly recommend using ONLY pure extracts, they make an enormous difference in flavour. As for the poster who said that this tasted just like a "block of cream cheese", then that is the only ingredient you must've used! This frosting beats up light and fluffy and goes perfectly with a great spice cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I do not like sweet icings but this one is cream cheese and that's all you taste. I had to add powdered sugar to it to make it even act like an icing to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States