Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Okay, I read the reviews where people didn't care for the almond flavor. I'm not a fan of almond myself so I took the almond extract down to 1/2t. and honestly it is still too prominent for me. I agree it is not a "sweet" frosting, but that isn't a bad thing at all. It allows you to taste the item you have made it for without being "canned" frosting sweet. I will make it again but not with almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
It was just bad. I ended up throwing away the frosting and making another
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aLittleDessert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Made brownies and forgot to buy confectioners sugar for frosting - while the brownies were cooling I found this recipe and threw it together in about 10 minutes! I didn't have almond extract but used 1/4 tsp maple extract, did the trick. Will be using this recipe again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
This was a great recipe! I made a peach cake, and it really needed a frosting. I didn't have any almond extract, or honey, so I substituted a cup of peach yogurt that I had, and it was perfect! It made the cake difficult to stop eating! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2011
I made this to go on red velvet cupcakes, it was very delicious and simple! I dipped apples in the remainder! SO GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This is a good recipe, but I will definately stick to using powdered sugar for cream cheese frosting. The consistancy wasn't as light and fluffly as I was hoping for, but since I didn't have any powdered sugar on hand, this was as good a recipe as ever. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
Good frosting. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quixotic Life

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iron Ridge, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Avondale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
Excellent. Excellent. Excellent. The only thing that keeps me from giving this five stars is the almond extract. I read the other reviews and decided to leave it out. But it was excellent anyway, I highly recommend this frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2011
good frosting, I halved the cream cheese, worked great on Tomato Soup Cake, added some cinnamon, omitted the almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Needed a quick frosting for banana cake & found this...did substitute banana extract for the almond...it came out really delicious. Good, quick, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFWife88

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States