Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I liked the almond extract (always use pure extract, never imitation). However, it was not quite sweet enough for my husband. So, I added brown sugar and omitted the honey. I wanted the consistency smooth/thin enough to flow down the sides of a bunt cake so I added just a little milk. Yummy!! I put it on an Apple Pie Cake. Perfect!! I got rave reviews at a church luncheon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by davidsmom
Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Great frosting. I was looking for a cream cheese frosting that didn't have powdered sugar in it because I am out. I will definitely use this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAZ123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
This stuff tasted like magic. I substituted coconut palm sugar instead of brown sugar, and used it on a banana cake (I believe it was Banana Cake II on this site, actually) and it was a perfect match. One of the people at the party commented that she'd like to eat a bowl of this frosting on its own, so that's pretty high praise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Decided to try this recipe as I did not have any confectioners sugar on hand, which most recipes seem to require. I left out the almond extract and instead of using honey, I used maple syrup! Also, I used half as much butter. In the end, I thought it was delicious on top of my pumpkin cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
OMGosh you could eat this by the spoon fulls!! Its not your typical frosting texture due to not having powder sugar. Its more like a butter spread. It has a little tartness to it but once you hit that tartness the sugar kicks in with the vanilla then almond flavor! A little thing I did was it says to let the butter cool. So I took the brown sugar and let it soak the butter up with the vanilla and almond that cooled it down a little faster. Yum! I will be spreading this on my banana bread tonight!! Thank you for a new keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyoftwo247

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Was making cinnamon rolls & realized I was out of powdered sugar. Found this recipe and it turned out great. I thinned it out with some milk to make it more like icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
This was an excellent recipe. I invited some friends over for a mid afternoon snack and baked some fresh cinnamon buns. I had started to prepare the usual cream cheese frosting recipe when I discovered that my roommate had used all of my icing sugar. I went to google and found this. I am glad I did. It really saved the day. I didnt use the almond extract (I didnt have any) but I didnt need to. It was delicious and my guests raved about it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I am giving this recipe a five stars because it is simple and quick and the outcome is delicious! I did a taste test before I added the almond extract and it tastes just as good with the almond extract included. For those of you who don't have almond extract on hand, this recipe will be just fine without it- it's just having the almond extract is an extra perk! Also, I cut the amount of honey by 1/2 the amount that the recipe calls for and for me, it had the right amount of sweetness. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teeags

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Wow! I loved this recipe! I needed frosting for the Clone of a Cinnabon recipe from this site, and I was out of powdered sugar. This recipe was perfect! Perfect sweetness from the brown sugar, not grainy at all. I even left out the honey because it was fine without it. I will use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bianca Morgan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I made this frosting when I needed cream cheese frosting for my home made cinnamon rolls, but was out of powdered sugar. This recipe worked out wonderfully. I made the full amount, but only needed half of it for a 9 X 13 pan of rolls. Since I didn't feel an almond flavor would go well with the cinnamon rolls, I omitted the almond extract. This just might become my go-to frosting for cinnamon rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States